Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Lithium Power Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2019, 17:11   #1

Are these cheap lithiums ok to use??

Hi all.

I bought my victron smart solar 100/50 from these guys, and they sent through some paperwork on their lithium batteries that peaked my interest due to price. I'm looking at throwing 400ah of LFP on my boat to replace the 520AH AGM i have currently.

I'm quite new to the LFP tech, so i thought i'd throw some screen shots of their advertised batteries on here and get some feedback to see if anyone has used them, heard of them, has concerns about them, has positive things to say about them and so forth.

See attachments.

Cheers
Scrimma
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lithium Writeup.jpeg
Views:	759
Size:	369.3 KB
ID:	187107   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lithium Specs.jpeg
Views:	728
Size:	332.7 KB
ID:	187108  

Name:	Lithium Battery.jpg
Views:	897
Size:	367.5 KB
ID:	187109  
Scrimma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 22:17   #2

Boat: Island Packet 40
Re: Are these cheap lithiums ok to use??

I am dipping a toe in the Lithium pond and to that end purchased a 100 amp hour Victron branded battery and a BMS. However, about a week after taking delivery I noticed an add in an electronics magazine for an equivalent specs battery at about half the price. I'm tempted to put in a second home brewed system using the cheaper battery, the only problem being that if the cheapy lasts as long as it's more expensive cousin and they both live for six or seven years I'm going to be really pissed off at myself.
RaymondR is online now   Reply With Quote