Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Lithium Power Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-09-2021, 17:01   #1

Boat: Beneteau 40.1
Alternator burn out charging lithium

Hi,

I am new to lithium batteries and after watching a Victron video on charging lithium a low RPMs i got a little concerned about my current set up.

I have a 14v125A alternator - the max charge current my lithiums will take is 90amps but...I have two...does this make the max amps 180?

I do also have a battery isolators with two AGM banks (as well as the lithium bank) attached to it.

I am wonder if i need to install an external regulator to protect my alternator...anyone know?

Sorry if a silly question...any help would be appreciated.

Thank you
Paul
SV-NoBadDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2021, 17:22   #2

Re: Alternator burn out charging lithium

Yes, you should get an external regulator.

Have you already installed the Liths?

The reason is simple: only an external regulator, preferably with temp sensors, will allow you to dial back the AO so it doesn't burn up due to the high acceptance of Liths.

It's also true for AGMs.

You should also get rid of the isolators, which drop Voltage thru them by ).7 to 1V.

WADR, it appears you could use some reading on this subject. Try marinehow.com Is for Sale.
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2021, 18:07   #3

Thank you, and yes they have already been installed.

I'll look into installing an external regulator.