Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-02-2021, 12:25   #1

Cruises in South Pacific in the early eighties

Hello everybody,

My name is Michael and I am an amateur novelist. Currently, I am looking for information on vessels crossing the Pacific Ocean in 1981 or early 1982.

Thus, I would like to know if any ships (actually cruise ships or cargoes) left Australia or New Zealand to go to Chilean or Argentinian ports at that time, after crossing the South Pacific. For instance, were there any Auckland to Valparaiso thing ? Or a cruise starting from the UK going round the world stopping by Australia / New Zealand and passing by Valparaiso, Punta Arenas or Buenos Ayres ?

Would you then know the names of some of those ships and their itinerary and schedules ?

In the event that no ship would have passed through there, were there sea routes in the other direction, through Southeast Asian waters and then the Indian Ocean and the Atlantic Ocean (thus passing through other ports maybe, such as Singapore or Cape Town)?

I would be very grateful if you could provide me with this information or direct me to somebody who could or to a website containing archives.

Cheerio,

Michael
Michael G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2021, 22:18   #2

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Re: Cruises in South Pacific in the early eighties

Michael, it sounds like you are interested in "Cruise ships", ie ships full of tourists going to a series of destinations.

The kind of cruising addressed in this forum is voyages in small sailing craft, operated by their owners. It is possible that someone could have info useful to you, but kinda off topic here and really unlikely.

There are likely fora that address the sort of info you crave, but I can't direct you to them... so good luck with your novel!

Jim
Old 15-02-2021, 23:11   #3

Boat: Outremer 50S