Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-04-2020, 17:25   #1

Sailing Newbie in Hampton Roads

Hi, all. I am moving to Hampton Roads, VA this year and have decided that I want to fulfill a lifelong desire to get into sailing and living aboard a sailboat, with the long-term plan of being able to cruise to the Caribbean and Europe. While I have grown up around ski boats and have plenty of boat handling skills in that dept, I have ZERO sailing experience. I would love to know about any resources specific to Hampton Roads (sailing clubs, organizations, other educational/experience opportunities) that will allow me to gain the experience I need and to get networked with people that can guide me through this process. I am a 42 y/o male in the military (Navy and Army, hence my move to Hampton Roads), an have established a basic sailing knowledge through books and youtube channels. I'm eager to get on the water. Any info will be helpful. THX!
jr104494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2020, 17:37   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: Sailing Newbie in Hampton Roads

Welcome to the forum, Jr. You are in a good place - I love sailing in the lower Chesapeake, but I'm way out of date on the amenities.
Old 30-04-2020, 17:55   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Cape George 31

Start at the Hampton Yacht Club--avid racers there, always looking for crew. There is also a military-owned marina for, well, military types. If you can get access to that there might be chances to go on some evening sails with your messmates. Great place for evening sailing is Hampton Roads.
Old 01-05-2020, 02:21   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, jr.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 02:37   #5

If you want to learn celestial navigation, I will be very close by and happy to help!