Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-07-2012, 11:20   #1

In need of help

I have reccently become very interested in sailing and I want to start somewhere, but I have no experience and no training. But I I do work well under pressure and am a very hard worker and I would like to know where I can get started. If it helps to know I live in the great lakes area, someone please help me ! Thankyou
dendebru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 12:18   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: We're technically refugees from our home in Yemen now living in Lebenon
Boat: 1978 CT48
Re: In need of help

Welcome to the forum dendebru.
I would consider going down to the local marina and walk the docks striking up conversations with anyone you can. See if you can make some friends and get on some boats.
May have some members here that will offer you some trips.
Good luck.
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 13:04   #3

Boat: Hylas 49
Look for a meetup group in your area. Take some lessons. Check the bulletin boards at loacal marinas and yacht clubs. Have fun.
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 13:32   #4

Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Re: In need of help

I was once in a simular situation. I took a weekend sailing class, and bought an old Laser, (like a sunfish), for $500.00. After a few weekends on the water I knew enough to be dangerous.

I just moved up to a trailer sailer, and I'm still dangerous, but I have a good idea where to go from here. And every weekend the mast and sails go up easier, and easier.

The tacks, and gybes go smoother, and I get better at steering, and setting and balancing the sails to get where I want to go.

IN a couple of years I'm going to move up to a 30-40ft cruiser, ( I still don't know the exact boat, but I'm narrowing down the list, and writing down must haves).