Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Other
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 08:30   #1

cruising basics question

Not sure if this is the proper place to post.....I am new to sailing and this is my question...I have a boat in San Diego. If I were to want to sail down the coast of the Baja how do I know where there are places to stop. To visit, spend the night, refuel, get food, etc.
cabledave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 08:37   #2

You want a book called a cruising guide. I'm not a west coast sailor, so I can't recommend a specific one. But, there are cruising guides for just about everywhere that cruisers like to go.
slomotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 08:49   #3

Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Check out Downwind Marine's website: http://www.downwindmarine.com/downlo...ngdownwind.pdf . Since you live (or have your boat here) in San Diego, stop by and chat with them. They are a terrific resource.
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2008, 02:06   #4

Boat: No boat at present
Send a message via Yahoo to otgadventures
THE book,I'm told for cruising the Caribbean, was mentioned to us on Off The Grid last winter, but I don't know what it is! It was over a dinner and drinks, and a 'oh ya gotta get book'. We're planning on heading to Panama. "Grid" is presently in Spanish Wells. Any suggestions on best guides, charts? Chart kits even? We have nearly four months to sail, but would like her safely berthed in Panama before next hurricane season. Would you savvy sailors send me some ideas? Jennifer on OFF THE GRID
Old 19-10-2008, 08:41   #5