Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-01-2022, 12:53   #1

Boat history check

Newbie here and wannabee boat owner, I am currently looking at purchasing a 40 footish sailboat, in order to narrow down the potential boats before throwing lots of dollars at a pre sale survey I wanted to try and tap into the many years of experience on this site as to working out the best way to research vessels before taking the financial plunge.
I understand if there are previous surveys that's a big win, but do unscrupulous sales people plead ignorance to such things?
I understand the Hull Identification Number data base exists, what if the boat pre dates this is there another way?
I am primarily looking at boats in the USA, the Coast Guard registry is a source of some information but only title and registration as far as I am aware?

Any feedback or tips about the best way to go about this task gratefully received. Thanks in advance Phil
FelisCatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2022, 13:20   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Mariner 39
Re: Boat history check

Hi, Phil and to the forum!

I don't think you are going to find a large amount of useful historical info on a particular boat, like you might find with a car via CarFAX. I have found blogs on particular boats of interest, which revealed interesting details.

A previous survey could be helpful, but that is not likely to be nearly as useful as a current survey done for you by someone you feel is competent. There are several threads on here discussing surveys. Reading some of them may help. I wouldn't worry at all about someone hiding a previous survey. Whoever paid for that survey owns it, and has no obligation to share it.

In case you haven't seen this, check out Marine Survey 101, pre-survey inspection