Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2017, 11:05   #1

Galveston to Nassau

My family and I are sailing our Potter 15 to Nassau from Galveston. I'm new to long voyages and am looking for advice on provisioning, actual time frame for the journey, and most importantly routes and wind info!
Thanks to any and everyone for helping!

PB

To your health and all the things you'll do with it!
Mrphbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 11:26   #2

Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Re: Galveston to Nassau

I would suggest put it on a trailer, pull it to Miami, then a freighter to Nassau.
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 12:09   #3

Ahhh but alas we are hoping to get more sailing experience... We're alright behind the wheel of the truck!
Thinking driving to Miami is going to be the back up plan for any time considerations.
Thanks for the message!
Old 03-12-2017, 13:55   #4

Boat: Beneteau 461 47'

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrphbrew View Post
Potter 15 to Nassau from Galveston.
Potter 15.

Your best bet would be taking the ICW all the way from Galveston to Apalachicola, then hugging the coast (dropping anchor over night) gunk-holing around the arm-pit of Florida until you get to the entrance of the Okeechobee canal at Fort Myers (Okeechobee Waterway - Cruising Guide and Navigation Info). Many people simply cut across from Apalachicola area direct to Clearwater/Tampa-bay area (overnight leg), but you may want to consider the coast-hugging option. That said, there isn't a great deal of protection in the armpit of Florida if a SW wind comes in..