Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2016, 12:41   #1

Boat: Skookum 47
Grib Files - Low Wind Speeds for Hurricane Mathew

I've never had the use of downloadable grib files on my adventures, but the next one will, no doubt. I've been playing with gribs now for about 6 months now, getting used to the forecasts vs reality, but when I look at what GFS is throwing out for hurricane Matthew, it seems like a pretty big gap between what's really happening vs modeling. I am getting 70 knots sustained from the files, when winds are actually recorded and in the range of 120 knots sustained.

I know gribs are always on the lower end of what is actually felt (typically), but this seems like poor modeling and pretty damn dangerous. I get that they are part of the overall toolkit of weather routing and decision making, but still...
SF Bay Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 13:37   #2
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Re: Grib Files - Low Wind Speeds for Hurricane Mathew

i follow storm 2k, a very accurate cane lovers site. i learn a lot and get to see beautiful pix and all the models of each storm with circles and arrows and a paragraph on the back. they also know when rapid intensification occurs, which other sites fail to pick up.... i noticed that. when compared to reality, s2k has it together. they tell me i'm-a gonna die--we get patricia. so..
matthew r i'd off colombia, yet many sources donot acknowledge that small fact.; follow nhc for htis one. per my gurus advices and see how it goes. the 3 day out predictions are not accurate due to the conditions
nc cat 3
bahamas cat 4 unless the formation r i's again..it has stalled some..
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 14:44   #3