Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2020, 23:15   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Catalina 320
Posts: 262
Anyone submitting weather reports to Windy?

The more I use Windy, the more I like it.

Recently, I noticed reports from some ships also show up.

I don't know how Windy gets this information but looks like they have an API to submit the weather information to them directly (see link).

Wondering if anyone submitting reports from their boats to them?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-01-01 at 10.15.03 PM.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	156.3 KB
ID:	206072  
__________________

Tenedos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2020, 20:08   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Catalina 320
Posts: 262
Re: Anyone submitting weather reports to Windy?

I went ahead and implemented a solution on my boat to submit data to Windy. It is now live! I send wind speed, direction and temperature. If you have the right instruments, it can also submit humidity and pressure.

I do this from a Raspberry Pi that is connected to my NMEA 2000/SeatalkNg network via a PiCAN2 board. I run a variety of different things on the Raspberry Pi, including a Signal K server, and AIS stations for MarineTraffic and AIS Hub.

I did develop a Signal K plugin for this, available at the following link:

https://github.com/itemir/signalk-windy

If you have a similar setup, all you need is to download the plugin and configure it with an API key that you obtain from Windy. If not, a similar setup can be created for less than $100.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	signalk-windy-screenshot.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	391.5 KB
ID:	206810  
__________________

Tenedos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 13:01   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Virginia
Boat: Boat Shopping Now
Posts: 12
Re: Anyone submitting weather reports to Windy?

If your PWS sends to CWOP / MADIS then Windy pulls it automatically. Windy does have a way to upload directly if you have software that has integrated that upload tool OR you have the ability to use the API to write your own upload script. Their website says that if your PWS is sending to CWOP / MADIS there is no need to register the station on their site and in fact today, I did and it caused a bunch of problems so I deleted my station from their site and am just letting them get the CWOP / MADIS info. Less for me to do. I do not understand how you would do this if you were sailing and moving unless your weather upload script is pulling in your location in real time to send along with the WX packets. I'm sure that is totally possible but my PWS is mounted on a fence so I didn't have to figure that part out.

I'm actually browsing the forums today to see if and what personal weather stations people have on their sailboats.

Back to the hunt. Hope I helped.
GadgetGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 13:06   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Virginia
Boat: Boat Shopping Now
Posts: 12
Re: Anyone submitting weather reports to Windy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenedos View Post
I went ahead and implemented a solution on my boat to submit data to Windy. It is now live!
Pretty cool.

When you are moving does it send apparent wind or true?

Would it be easy to send Lat/Lon along with the WX packets?

I may have to check this out. Thanks!
GadgetGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 13:30   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Catalina 320
Posts: 262
Re: Anyone submitting weather reports to Windy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetGeek View Post
Windy does have a way to upload directly if you have software that has integrated that upload tool OR you have the ability to use the API to write your own upload script.
This code uses their API directly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetGeek View Post
I do not understand how you would do this if you were sailing and moving unless your weather upload script is pulling in your location in real time to send along with the WX packets.
At every weather update, location is also updated. So as you move, your weather reporting position moves too. This is what makes it different than a typical PWS. A typical PWS is fixed and doesn't move but obviously a boat does

Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetGeek View Post
Pretty cool.
When you are moving does it send apparent wind or true?

Would it be easy to send Lat/Lon along with the WX packets?
Thanks. It reports the true wind, apparent would not make much sense. And yes, as I mentioned above, latitude and longitude are sent at every update and are reflected on Windy.com.
Tenedos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 13:42   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Virginia
Boat: Boat Shopping Now
Posts: 12
Re: Anyone submitting weather reports to Windy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenedos View Post
...latitude and longitude are sent at every update and are reflected on Windy.com.
I'll have to watch your station ID to see you reporting on the move. That's pretty cool.
GadgetGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 13:49   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Catalina 320
Posts: 262
Re: Anyone submitting weather reports to Windy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetGeek View Post
I'll have to watch your station ID to see you reporting on the move. That's pretty cool.
Sure. Here are two boats (or weather stations!) that are using this plugin:
  1. https://www.windy.com/station/pws-af...872,-122.499,8
  2. https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f0...628,-122.393,8

These should start moving as we start sailing. If anyone else starts using the plugin, please let me know.
Tenedos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2020, 04:14   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Currently Run Aground Ashore...
Boat: Sail & Power for over 35 years, experience cruising the Eastern Caribbean, Western Med, and more
Posts: 1,116
Re: Anyone submitting weather reports to Windy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetGeek View Post
I'll have to watch your station ID to see you reporting on the move. That's pretty cool.
Some commercial ships also report their data while underway, this has always been the case.

So of course some of these reports are also visible in Windy too.
__________________

jmh2002 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ports, weather, weather report, weather station, wind, windy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windy Weather for England = Cat 1 Strength Pete7 Europe & Mediterranean 37 22-10-2017 04:27
USCG submitting paperowrk for exchange of documentation during sale phorvati Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 0 12-09-2016 10:36
AIS position reports but (almost) no Static reports? ngermain Marine Electronics 2 26-07-2012 18:07
Submitting code through GIT? JesperWe OpenCPN 4 14-04-2012 06:22

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:57.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.