Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2022, 07:49   #1
Registered User
 
AKA-None's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lake City MN
Boat: C&C 27 Mk III
Posts: 2,087
Where to set soc for battery monitor

So I finally installed my master volt battery monitor and am curious as to where people set their state of charge
So for 200ah of house with a sealed lead acid battery should I tell the monitor that it has 100ah of capacity?
I did a cursory search but didnt immediately find a conversation on this item but thought wed covered this previously
__________________
Special knowledge can be a terrible disadvantage if it leads you too far along a path that you cannot explain anymore.
Frank Herbert 'Dune'
AKA-None is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 08:35   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 73
Re: Where to set soc for battery monitor

It is very much a matter of your choice and convenience. Some set it at 100% SOC and watch not to go below safe discharge levels for lead acid 20% to 50%, knowing you have room to go down to 1% SOC (and shorten the battery life in an emergency). Some set it as 50% which tells you you are at zero SOC even you have more Ah available - in case of other users on board who may not be familiar with the lead acid details and you like them to have a simple view of 0% SOC when real SOC is only at 50%.



On my 460Ah lead acid bank I had it at 50% with very small loads and small solar. Mainly watching temperature, voltage and the current - not much the SOC. But in your case of a smaller bank with 40 to 100Ah safe usage capacity not to shorten the battery life, you may want to be able to set it at 200Ah in case you like to know what is going on once you are below 100Ah usage.


I found this very helpful: https://surveillancetrailerrental.co...voltage-chart/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2022-07-03 083859.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	260449  
__________________
When there are white caps on the bay, the pro don't play.
badadim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 15:29   #3
Registered User
 
AnglaisInHull's Avatar

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sailing Lake Ontario
Boat: Mirage 35
Posts: 1,047
Re: Where to set soc for battery monitor

I have mine set to 100% of rated capacity, but generally ignore the percentage reading and just look at Ah used - e.g. I have 210 Ah batteries, so effectively about 100 Ah usable. After a night at anchor it usually shows it's down about 25 Ah, which tells me all I need to know.
__________________
My boat is like me. People look, and say "... pretty good shape ... for its age ..."
AnglaisInHull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 16:47   #4
Registered User
 
AKA-None's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lake City MN
Boat: C&C 27 Mk III
Posts: 2,087
Re: Where to set soc for battery monitor

I forgot to add that Id like less educated people look at it like a gas gauge empty full
:-)
__________________
Special knowledge can be a terrible disadvantage if it leads you too far along a path that you cannot explain anymore.
Frank Herbert 'Dune'
AKA-None is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 17:58   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4,067
Re: Where to set soc for battery monitor

if you put the wrong number in the perkerts effect will be wrong.

a 10a load on a 100ah listed bank for serveral hours will give a different SOC reading then a 10a load on a 200ah listed bank for the same time

put the correct number in and just keep over 50%
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 18:12   #6
Registered User
 
AKA-None's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lake City MN
Boat: C&C 27 Mk III
Posts: 2,087
Re: Where to set soc for battery monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
if you put the wrong number in the perkerts effect will be wrong.

a 10a load on a 100ah listed bank for serveral hours will give a different SOC reading then a 10a load on a 200ah listed bank for the same time

put the correct number in and just keep over 50%


Oh

And this is why I ask questions
Thanks for that insight
__________________
Special knowledge can be a terrible disadvantage if it leads you too far along a path that you cannot explain anymore.
Frank Herbert 'Dune'
AKA-None is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, monitor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor Handsoff Marine Electronics 14 15-04-2020 08:32
Battery bank SOC questions Dr. D Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 30-09-2019 14:04
Blue Sea M2 DC SoC Monitor, part# 1830 john61ct Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 18-09-2019 04:39
Battery Monitor SOC sailorboy1 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 39 09-05-2013 21:54

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.