Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2020, 00:23   #1
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,534
Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Hi all,

I’ve setup a network with two Victron Smartsolar 100/30 regulators and the 10 meter range version of the Smartbattery Sense.

It all worked nicely and the Smartnetworking tab shows that I am getting synchronised charging and voltage and temperature data from the sensor.

However, the Network Total Power reading is always the power output of the lower of the power readings from the two regulators. I’ve tried from both an IPad and a Samsung phone, so I think it’s not in the app itself.

The actual power going into the battery does appear to be the total of the two, however it’s late in the day and I didn’t get a chance to check properly.

Has anyone else seen similar behaviour?
__________________

__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 00:56   #2
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Boat: Bestevaer.
Posts: 12,119
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Check you have the latest software then verify that all the controllers are showing on the “V.E Network” page.

With my 3 controllers and the smart battery sense, the page looks like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	61A0D384-4DE2-4C13-8B89-F4F2FC44E51F.jpeg
Views:	71
Size:	312.7 KB
ID:	216514  
__________________

noelex 77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 02:08   #3
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,534
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Yep, all showing, and I even used the latest apps from both Android and IOS in case they had version release delays.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 02:18   #4
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Boat: Bestevaer.
Posts: 12,119
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Hopefully someone else has some suggestions. If not, I would contact Victron.

My total network power is showing the correct value, although it does occasionally drop out for a second or so.
noelex 77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 02:54   #5
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,534
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by noelex 77 View Post
Hopefully someone else has some suggestions. If not, I would contact Victron.

My total network power is showing the correct value, although it does occasionally drop out for a second or so.

Yes, I may well have to.

And I meant to say thank you, it was your post on Victron firmware that brought this system ability to my attention.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 10:12   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Boat: Tartan 4400
Posts: 41
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

I am seeing the same thing, and it may have saved me from some problems. I installed the smart sense at the 4th battery in a parallel system, while the MPPT was charging the first battery. The MPPT was only showing battery voltage of the 100/30 so I was concerned of overcharging. I disconnected the Network. There just may be a bug.
dksail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 14:07   #7
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,534
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dksail View Post
I am seeing the same thing, and it may have saved me from some problems. I installed the smart sense at the 4th battery in a parallel system, while the MPPT was charging the first battery. The MPPT was only showing battery voltage of the 100/30 so I was concerned of overcharging. I disconnected the Network. There just may be a bug.
If the batteries are wired in parallel, it does not matter which battery you connect the smart sense to, provided your wiring is a heavy enough gauge. Likewise, the charger will be charging all batteries at the same rate.

The smarsolar regulators will show the battery voltage according to.the smartsense if.the ve network is operating. See Noelex's picture to see how to tell if the network is working.

My issue is with network power, not voltage.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 15:31   #8
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,534
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Update on the apparent software bug.

This morning I have checked on the system and the network total is now reading correctly.

I wonder if the system needs to start “cold” with everything connected and configured to read correctly?

Anyway, so far so good, and for anyone who sees the same problem with a newly configured network, maybe wait for it to restart the next day.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 05:58   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Boat: 2005 Lagoon, 440, owners version
Posts: 202
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by noelex 77 View Post
Check you have the latest software then verify that all the controllers are showing on the “V.E Network” page.

With my 3 controllers and the smart battery sense, the page looks like this:


How did you rename yours units? I have been digging around the settings and seem to be missing that feature.
Nahbrown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 07:06   #10
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Boat: Bestevaer.
Posts: 12,119
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nahbrown View Post
How did you rename yours units? I have been digging around the settings and seem to be missing that feature.
Follow these steps:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	C8CDACCD-7750-40E8-BBB4-9040D59A1B96.jpeg
Views:	5
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	216997   Click image for larger version

Name:	1FCE9868-FA78-4BEF-951F-8A8FE9944535.jpeg
Views:	4
Size:	178.4 KB
ID:	216998  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6A755086-9C1E-425E-9868-80353683804B.jpeg
Views:	6
Size:	225.6 KB
ID:	216999  
noelex 77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 16:28   #11
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,534
Re: Victron Smartsolar ve.smartnetworking bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nahbrown View Post
How did you rename yours units? I have been digging around the settings and seem to be missing that feature.


As Noelex has shown, it’s well hidden.
__________________

__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
solar, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Victron SmartSolar and BMV712 connections to shunt? Scrimma Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 32 21-08-2019 23:38
Two Victron MPPT 100/30 SmartSolar Controllers - Not Charging SV Bacchus Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 20 11-04-2019 08:50
I have the bug Greenman Meets & Greets 7 28-05-2008 12:09
Ive Caught The BUG! HELP!!! PBO General Sailing Forum 4 24-04-2008 18:15
bug screen cockpit enclosure? c.spots Multihull Sailboats 3 28-11-2007 14:03

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.