Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-08-2020, 18:37   #1
Registered User
 
Hoohaa's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney Aus
Boat: Swarbrick 40
Posts: 758
Images: 10
Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

I have recently redone my battery bank and wiring.
My BMV700 Is displaying the battery voltage. But only displaying 0.22 to 0.28 amps for the amp display.
Is it possible I have damaged the shunt?
I have checked wiring and reset the unit numerous times.
Perhaps someone could send me a link to a trouble shooting guide for this unit?
Jeff
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG20200815105632.jpeg
Views:	64
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	221293
__________________
Drinking hot tea on a hot day is like banging your head against a wall . It feels good when you stop.... "Terry" my dad.
Hoohaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2020, 18:51   #2
Registered User
 
Hoohaa's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney Aus
Boat: Swarbrick 40
Posts: 758
Images: 10
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Update.
I just ran the engine and it shows the alternator charging amps.
So. It's working but just reporting on the crank battery. Not the battery bank.
It may have something to do with the new Blue seas battery switch and ACR I have installed.
Any Ideas?
__________________
Drinking hot tea on a hot day is like banging your head against a wall . It feels good when you stop.... "Terry" my dad.
Hoohaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2020, 18:57   #3
Registered User
 
Hoohaa's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney Aus
Boat: Swarbrick 40
Posts: 758
Images: 10
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Here's a pic of my wiring diagram.Click image for larger version

Name:	1597456634830.jpeg
Views:	114
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	221294
__________________
Drinking hot tea on a hot day is like banging your head against a wall . It feels good when you stop.... "Terry" my dad.
Hoohaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2020, 19:09   #4
Registered User
 
Uncle Bob's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney Australia
Boat: Fisher pilothouse sloop 32'
Posts: 1,880
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Hi, if I recall correctly they display the amps going to the battery, if the batteries are new and fully charged they won't be accepting much energy at all.
__________________
Rob aka Uncle Bob Sydney Australia.

Life is 10% the cards you are dealt, 90% how you play em
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2020, 19:37   #5
Registered User
 
Hoohaa's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney Aus
Boat: Swarbrick 40
Posts: 758
Images: 10
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Hi Bob.
They display amps in and out. So you can usually see the power consumption of fridge, lights ect.
Mine apears to be fixated on my start battery which is happily sitting there isolated from all the loads going on except the start and charge from the alternator.
I still can't figure out how I performed those wiring acrobatics.
__________________
Drinking hot tea on a hot day is like banging your head against a wall . It feels good when you stop.... "Terry" my dad.
Hoohaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2020, 19:46   #6
Registered User
 
Uncle Bob's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney Australia
Boat: Fisher pilothouse sloop 32'
Posts: 1,880
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoohaa View Post
Hi Bob.
They display amps in and out. So you can usually see the power consumption of fridge, lights ect.
Mine apears to be fixated on my start battery which is happily sitting there isolated from all the loads going on except the start and charge from the alternator.
I still can't figure out how I performed those wiring acrobatics.
Which side of the shunt is the start battery neg wired to and does the house neg go through the shunt??
__________________
Rob aka Uncle Bob Sydney Australia.

Life is 10% the cards you are dealt, 90% how you play em
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2020, 20:36   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,142
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Why is the shunt on the engine ground. It needs to go on the neg wire between house bank and bus

Acutuakly it looks like your bank is in 2 spots. You need to take the ground wires from both parts of the house bank to the shunt. Then shunt. To bus.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2020, 23:29   #8
Registered User
 
Hoohaa's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney Aus
Boat: Swarbrick 40
Posts: 758
Images: 10
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Why is the shunt on the engine ground. It needs to go on the neg wire between house bank and bus

Acutuakly it looks like your bank is in 2 spots. You need to take the ground wires from both parts of the house bank to the shunt. Then shunt. To bus.
You are correct.
I thought it needed to be at very end of the ground.
Also. My bank is split. So I have all battery negatives running to the neg bus. Then to the shunt and then finishing on the engine ground.
So. I should run both the battery bank earth's to the shunt first and then to the bus. With the bus going to ground on the engine. Effectively bypassing the start battery all together.
I can see the logic. I'll give it a go.
Side note. I would have thought that my current setup would have covered the entire system. Obviously it doesn't. But I can't get my head around why?
Anyway, I will rerun the wires as you suggested.
Thanks
__________________
Drinking hot tea on a hot day is like banging your head against a wall . It feels good when you stop.... "Terry" my dad.
Hoohaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2020, 00:52   #9
Registered User
 
Hoohaa's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney Aus
Boat: Swarbrick 40
Posts: 758
Images: 10
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Why is the shunt on the engine ground. It needs to go on the neg wire between house bank and bus

Acutuakly it looks like your bank is in 2 spots. You need to take the ground wires from both parts of the house bank to the shunt. Then shunt. To bus.
Thanks Smac. You have solved it.
Legend!
Click image for larger version

Name:	1597477934669.jpeg
Views:	57
Size:	83.2 KB
ID:	221320
__________________
Drinking hot tea on a hot day is like banging your head against a wall . It feels good when you stop.... "Terry" my dad.
Hoohaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2020, 10:08   #10
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Boat: CS27
Posts: 2,269
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoohaa View Post

Side note. I would have thought that my current setup would have covered the entire system. Obviously it doesn't. But I can't get my head around why?
Anyway, I will rerun the wires as you suggested.
Thanks
If it is a BMV-700 it is for the measurement of one bank - house. The start battery will not be counted. There should be one main negative from the house bank, even if it is in 2 locations. The shunt is the first connection after the house bank negative post. Then to the bus where all other negative wires including the start battery negative are connected.
mitiempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 06:43   #11
Registered User
 
Hoohaa's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney Aus
Boat: Swarbrick 40
Posts: 758
Images: 10
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitiempo View Post
If it is a BMV-700 it is for the measurement of one bank - house. The start battery will not be counted. There should be one main negative from the house bank, even if it is in 2 locations. The shunt is the first connection after the house bank negative post. Then to the bus where all other negative wires including the start battery negative are connected.
Thanks for the reply. All is working properly now.
I understand what you are saying, and now have it set up with the shunt on the banks negative lines and then to the neg bus and then to the engine ground.
But I still can't understand logically why it didn't work or rather just displayed the start battery. When the shunt was between the Neg bus and the engine ground? I would have thought that it would have sensed all of the goings on.
Unless the banks where using there own neg terminals as the ground, effectively cutting short the circuit and cutting out the engine ground?
__________________
Drinking hot tea on a hot day is like banging your head against a wall . It feels good when you stop.... "Terry" my dad.
Hoohaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 23:53   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,142
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

If it’s between the ground bus and engine, it will only show current between the engine and ground bus. So it would have showed starting current as you cranked the motor going one way. And then charge current from the alt as it charged batteries (both, some of that current would be going to each battery) going the other way. (+ or -). Depending which way the shunt was facing.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 04:14   #13
Registered User
 
ilenart's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West Australia
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 40
Posts: 190
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

If you want to monitor a 2nd battery you need the Victron BMV-702 or BMV-712 Smart
ilenart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 22:11   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,142
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilenart View Post
If you want to monitor a 2nd battery you need the Victron BMV-702 or BMV-712 Smart
Only volts.

If you want to fully monitor you need a 2nd unit.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2020, 22:49   #15
Registered User
 
ilenart's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West Australia
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 40
Posts: 190
Re: Victron BMV-700. Not reading Amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Only volts.

If you want to fully monitor you need a 2nd unit.
For an engine battery why would you need to monitor anything more than the volts?
ilenart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Victron bmv 700-tally double u Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 7 16-06-2019 15:33
Victron BMV-700 settings for solar svsonora Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 20-04-2019 08:45
Victron BMV-700 acting weird double u Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 11-10-2018 09:32
Victron BMV-700/702 with Cheap/Generic Bluetooth Dongle jaffadog Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 18-09-2018 05:50
Victron BMV 600 - Issues Installing mkeller23173 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 7 13-07-2010 08:17

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:16.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.