Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2021, 21:34   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 5
Tried to start engine with shore power

So I just bought a clipper marine 32 and have been working through some repairs from a previous owner. I just replace the cable clamps on my batteries (3 out of 4 were loose) as the diesel was having trouble starting, slow charging etc. Anyway was running a generator with my shore power hookup and I tried to start the engine. I have now lost power and can't find any breaker tripped Or fuse blown. Please help.
Agorist88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 02:48   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 42,483
Images: 241
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Agorist.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 02:54   #3
Registered User
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 9,041
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

When you say you lost power, did you lose AC power, or DC power.

These are two separate systems only loosely joined by a better charger
Sailmonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 06:24   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 5
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

I've only been running DC since I've had the boat still need to figure out the AC
Agorist88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 09:22   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Port Angeles, Wash.
Boat: 1967 Mariner 40
Posts: 43
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

Circuit breaker on post where you plug your shore power in?
Larry T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 09:39   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,124
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agorist88 View Post
S.... was running a generator with my shore power hookup and I tried to start the engine. I have now lost power and can't find any breaker tripped Or fuse blown. Please help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agorist88 View Post
I've only been running DC since I've had the boat still need to figure out the AC
Generator = AC

Shore Power = AC

Battery Charger = AC (in); DC (out)

Batteries = DC

Starter = DC

Lights = DC

1) I don't really understand why you would be running a generator AND shorepower.

2) You have three power sources here (Generator, Shore Power, and Batteries). Could you provide details on what is not working??
Shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 09:41   #7
Registered User
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 23,894
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

What engine? Some engines have a fuse behind the control panel or in the wiring harness near the engine.
Be very careful touching any metal in the boat while the Gen is running etc. Just in case something weird is going on or wired...
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 10:09   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Monterey, CA
Boat: '14 Greenline 33 Hybrid m/v
Posts: 180
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

I imagine he's probably running a portable generator's output through his shore power cable.
PineyWoodsPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 10:15   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,379
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

Like many on this Forum, the posters description of the issue is too confused and incomplete to comment on.
jmschmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 13:37   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Currently cruising the eastern Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 42, Minx
Posts: 224
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

If you are using the pathetic 12VDC output on a portable generator to try and start the engine, forget it. Run the generator's AC output to your shore power inlet for an hour or so, then disconnect the generator and try cranking the motor.
singlespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 17:15   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 5
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

Correct. I'm out at anchor.
Agorist88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 17:24   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 5
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

I am running a large 3600 watt Generator to my shore power outlet. The problem is that before I tried starting the engine I had cabin lights(12v system) running and now nothing is on .
Agorist88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 17:53   #13
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: C.L.O.D.
Posts: 12,763
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agorist88 View Post
So I just bought a clipper marine 32 and have been working through some repairs from a previous owner. I just replace the cable clamps on my batteries (3 out of 4 were loose) as the diesel was having trouble starting, slow charging etc. Anyway was running a generator with my shore power hookup and I tried to start the engine. I have now lost power and can't find any breaker tripped Or fuse blown. Please help.
Let me see if I understand this correctly.

1.You had trouble with slow charging and hard starting.
2. You replaced some (3 or 4) cable clamps on your batteries.
3. You tried to start the engine and lost all 12VDC power.
4. You can't find a blown fuse or tripped circuit breaker to explain the loss of all 12VDC power.

If the above is accurate or very close to the sequence of events then I suggest you haven't replaced the cable clamps correctly OR there is a hidden fuse (circuit breaker) that needs finding OR both.

Questions -

Did the DC lights etc work after replacing the cable clamps but before starting the engine?

Do you have a multimeter or DVM etc and know how to use it.

Is there a 12 V meter on your electrical or engine panel?

Most likely there is simple explanation but you will have to help us to help you.

If you have a suitable 12V DC meter, measure the battery voltage at the battery terminals, measure again after the master switch (if fitted) and also at DC distribution panel (if fitted). Make all measurements with the DC lights turned ON and report back.
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2021, 17:59   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Monterey, CA
Boat: '14 Greenline 33 Hybrid m/v
Posts: 180
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agorist88 View Post
I am running a large 3600 watt Generator to my shore power outlet. The problem is that before I tried starting the engine I had cabin lights(12v system) running and now nothing is on .

So you're running 120VAC into a 120V inverter-charger? Are you sure that the charger 12V leads are connected to batteries with correct polarity?
PineyWoodsPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2021, 03:09   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 5
Re: Tried to start engine with shore power

Thanks yes the DC lights worked until I tried to crank there engine. I don't yet have a multi meter but that's definitely on the list to buy this weekend. I have gauges in the panel that worked but are now dead. I can't seem to find any fuse anywhere in the system.
Agorist88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine, shore power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using shore power on boat w/o AC power system dalepo Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 12 21-07-2020 07:43
Only one power cord is getting power from my shore power. Privilege Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 10 11-09-2019 08:35
Portable Honda Gen to Shore Power- Can this power hot water electrics? simonpickard Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 25 03-06-2019 07:30
Power Panel - Shore power light dmksails Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 10-08-2017 10:02
Dual Shore Power / Engine Pulley Driven Compressor anontrolus Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 1 17-09-2012 08:23

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.