Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-04-2018, 00:30   #1

Boat: Lagoon 55
Solar Panels Advice

Hello everyone,

I'm orientating to buy solar panels to put on the roof of my catamaran.
The available space is 2.5 x 3.5 meters and I like to make maximum use of the space.
I would like to buy the thin flexible ones, preferably with anti-slip surface in case I have to be on the roof.
And would also prefer the panels to be as big as possible to reduce wiring.

I am studying the forum as we speak but so far can't find recommendations on what brand and where to buy.

In my country (Oman) they don't sell anything so whatever I choose I will have to import. If anybody has any advice on which brand type solar panels to buy I would be very happy!!

I planning to install a Lithium battery bank as well, not sure if thats relevant information. I've recently noticed I will need to embark on quite a learning curve when it comes to electrical systems....

Thank you for any help!
BaledAlSalaam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2018, 00:41   #2

Re: Solar Panels Advice

Basically you can go in two directions: cheap PET polymer panels from ebay, banggodd, etc - they last for 3-5 years if not flexed all the time, then you bin them and get a new set. Alternatively you can buy high-end units like the lensun ETFE panels for 3x the price, they last longer.
Old 21-04-2018, 05:53   #3

Boat: Camper Nicholson 40

Gtom,
would you consider mounting on a bimini as flexing all the time?
mwacontent
mwacontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2018, 06:09   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwacontent View Post
Gtom,
would you consider mounting on a bimini as flexing all the time?
mwacontent
not the worst but neither the best condition for a panel... For the bimini I'd prefer a rigid setup.