Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-03-2022, 21:55   #1

Boat: Gulf Coast 18 sailboat
Small Day Sailor Wiring

I'm new to sailing and just getting into a project sailboat, a Gulf Coast 18, and while I'm getting into fiberglass work, I'm also trying to plan ahead for what holes will be or can be where.

I plan to mainly use the boat as a day sailor on lakes and the coast, but also want it to be overnight ready, so in addition to the nessisary bow, stern, and mast lights and bilge pump, I want to add a solar panel, dimable led strip lights on the deck, dimable interior lights, interior connections for things like a radio and mini fridge, and an electric horn.

A lot of this can wait until the boat's back in the water and I can get a better feel for what I need and what isn't worth it, but I'd be interested in any input. One thing I'm trying to figure is the horn. I'll likely mount it on top of the house near the mast, but I'm not sure where to put the button? All the other switches will be just inside the cabin, but I'd think that the horn should be more accessible.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20220330_131535.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	442.1 KB
ID:	255280  
M.B. Naegle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2022, 05:03   #2

Boat: Ericson 27
Re: Small Day Sailor Wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.B. Naegle View Post
I'm new to sailing and just getting into a project sailboat, a Gulf Coast 18, and while I'm getting into fiberglass work, I'm also trying to plan ahead for what holes will be or can be where.