Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-11-2022, 06:29   #46
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Flagler County, FL, USA, Earth
Boat: Lagoon 380
Posts: 920
Re: Schematic for capacitor pre-charge

A choke just moves the issue from power up to hi current interrupts, where a large V spike will occur. Interrupting a hi A inductive dc load tends to weld contacts together.
team karst is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2022, 13:19   #47
Marine Service Provider
 
Emmalina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thailand
Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Posts: 996
Re: Schematic for capacitor pre-charge

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
Thatís because you donít have lithium or you have high resistance. For good lithium installations you get a couple thousand amps inrush current.
Actually I do have Lithium 800Ah of them !
__________________
Steve .. It was the last one that did this !
Emmalina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2022, 14:12   #48
DoÖ or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 14,870
Re: Schematic for capacitor pre-charge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmalina View Post
Actually I do have Lithium 800Ah of them !
Then you either have high resistance somewhere, or you get a couple thousand amps inrush current when connecting a large discharged capacitor.
__________________
May the Force be with you!

s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Does the Capacitor in a Generator Do? scoobert Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 16 28-07-2013 03:21
Start-up Capacitor for Honda Genset ? Chief Engineer Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 8 27-11-2011 06:05
Zener Diode or Capacitor with mcck Onan Control-o-Matic Genset? sdowney717 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 22-11-2011 10:02
Need a new capacitor in Panama Meck Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 19-03-2011 18:38
Split Capacitor on Windlass Motor Terminals - Why? Zul Anchoring & Mooring 2 16-11-2009 09:14

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.