Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-10-2019, 01:55   #1

Questions about Dielectric Greases

Just a few questions as I have no experience with this stuff. Done a search online but cab't find anything.
How long do they provide corrosion resistance between mating surfaces? Like between a lug & busbar.

When the corrosion protection wears off do I simply apply another coat or is there some hard buildup/layer left that needs to be scrubbed or cleaned off?

cheers
JmanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2019, 03:12   #2
Writing Full-Time Since 2014

Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34
Re: Questions about Dielectric Greases

Quote:
Originally Posted by JmanC View Post
Just a few questions as I have no experience with this stuff. Done a search online but cab't find anything.
How long do they provide corrosion resistance between mating surfaces? Like between a lug & busbar.

When the corrosion protection wears off do I simply apply another coat or is there some hard buildup/layer left that needs to be scrubbed or cleaned off?

cheers

Dielectric greases generally contain very few additives, or they would conduct electricity. They inhibit corrosion by excluding oxygen and water. There are inhibiting greases, such as Al-noox and No-Ox-id that contain corrosion inhibitors.

In truth, you will do as well with a good waterproof grease, such as Green Grease or even Lanocote.

No, there generally is nothing to scrub-off, other than the typical grease residue.

It's not that complicated to get a lasting joint. Clean. Tight. Grease. (The clamping force push the grease out of the way,)
Old 30-10-2019, 03:44   #3
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.

What thinwater said plus.

Most dielectric grease are low pressure greases which means they will squeeze out easily under pressure.