Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2020, 00:42   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Boat: Lagoon 450 F
Posts: 146
Problems with Victron Powerassist / Upgrade inverter capacity

Here in the forum an example was brought to get a high inverter power, e.g. to cook with an induction cooker. The Victron Quattro, Multiplus / Mastervolt Power-Assist is designed to boost weak shore power or generator power. This can be used theoretically (or by forum members here in practice) to connect another inverter instead and increase its power.

I have therefore contacted Victron. The guy there went directly to my throat in the figurative sense. He insisted, that this leads to problems (which are not covered by warranty) but did not want to say what kind of these vague problems are. Instead, he almost yelled at me that I absolutely have to buy two Quattros for parallel use instead. (each over 3000,- $).

Mastervolt also refuses to connect other inverters to their powerassist function without any explanation, so my dealer told me.

What is this all about? Does anyone know what problems this can lead to? No generator produces directly 120 or 230V AC, which means that the AC from an AC generator always comes from an inverter.

Is this just a "particularly clever" sales trick, or is there really something in it? It is clear that energy saving functions or other controls of the connected inverter can be switched off, but then exactly the same current comes out of a 12/120 or 12/230 DC/AC as from the shore connection or the generator. Or not?

Any ideas what the problems might be?
Ulstue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 05:39   #2
Registered User
 
RickG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2013
Location: St. John, USVI
Boat: 2003 Beneteau 423
Posts: 571
Re: Problems with Victron Powerassist / Upgrade inverter capacity

I guess that depends on your cooktop specs. The cooktop we had at our house was 240V with a 40amp breaker. That is more capacity than our Multiplus 3000 can handle. But, a single burner 12V 15amp induction cooktop would work fine; not a bad idea as backup to propane. I'm not an electrician. So, personally, if I was thinking about installing an induction cooktop I would hire an electrician.

Cheers, RickG

Cheers, RickG
__________________
RickG & Sweet Christine
S/V Echoes - 2003 Beneteau 423
Coral Bay - St. John, USVI -- Grenada Summer 2021
RickG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 13:49   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Queensland, Australia
Boat: Leopard 42
Posts: 103
Re: Problems with Victron Powerassist / Upgrade inverter capacity

It works fine to use an inverter to supply power to a multiplus. We have an easyplus 1600va that is always on. When larger loads like cooking are required the multiplus 3000va is switched on. It can be left on all day, but draws nearly 2 amps a t 12 volts.

It does require discipline to remember to turn the larger inverter on. No different I suppose than turning a Genset on to cook. This is assisted by a large flashing beeping alarm that comes on if the pre alarm on either inverter comes on. These are wired to the relay output on the inverters.

Only initial issue was that the power would drop out as the easyplus synced to the larger inverter. After disabling the UPS feature of the easyplus it works perfectly.

Charging is completely disabled on the easyplus as it's small charging isn't required. Otherwise you would have to turn charging on and off when switching from shore power to inverter power. The 3000va multiplus has 120 amp charging which is enough for us.
swampbush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zeus2 Not updatting but get "upgrade failed. Retry upgrade procedure" Fluenta Marine Electronics 6 22-11-2020 06:32
Victron Multiplus upgrade really a downgrade? autumnbreeze27 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 21 14-01-2017 12:37
spectra water maker capacity upgrade BrightAyes Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 1 13-02-2014 18:44
Victron Energy Inverter irwinsailor Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 17-09-2010 08:09
For Sale: Victron 750W/24V Inverter JayH Classifieds Archive 0 02-09-2010 15:30

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.