Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-11-2019, 06:19   #1

Boat: Admiral 38 Executive
Power Needs Evaluation

I am currently evaluating a new boat (to me) with a plan to live aboard and cruise the Caribbean and southern US over the next year or so. I am a novice evaluating complex electrical systems and right now am focusing on the power generation equipment aboard...trying to understand what I have and what I need.
The boat comes with the following:
- 120 amp Power Max alternator
- Balmar three-stage regulator
- 4 Lifeline 8D AGM batteries (old - age is 2012) - will need to be replaced, but with what?
- Westerbeke 7.5w generator
- Xantrex 2000 watt inverter
- Xantrex 60 amp battery charger

Systems aboard that take power include:
- Electric primary winches & electric main furling winch
- Pur 160e watermaker
- A/C:2 16 KBTU Cruise Air reverse-cycle units
- 12 gal Water heater
- Microwave
- 2 Seafrost refrigeration systems (1 freezer, 1 fridge)
- Vacuflush head
- Splendide washer/dryer
- Full suite of Raymarine electronics (vintage 2009)
- SSB radio
- Lighthouse 1501 windlass (with it's own battery)

Anything I should focus on, upgrade, change, etc?
mojosailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2019, 07:13   #2
CLOD

Boat: none
Re: Power Needs Evaluation

What’s the question? You have lots of power and don’t “need” anything. The decision for you to make is whether you want to add solar (only practical way to get those batteries fully charged even if you are going to run the generator every day or 2)
Old 23-11-2019, 07:51   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Power Needs Evaluation

Seeing as how I assume the charge sources are the alternator and the battery charger, 60 amps isn’t much charge source at all.