Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 15:50   #1

Boat: None at the moment
Looking for a new battery charger

Hi everyone. I'm still relatively new to most things electrical on board my boat but I have been learning really fast. I'm thinking of replacing my battery charger in the near future and was looking for some help.

My current set up is a Sentry G120-3NL battery charger (that I've had a tough time finding info on), a normal lead acid house batt, and an AGM starting batt. The boat had some sort of battery combining diode when I bought it but it was so corroded that I took it out. I've just been manually switching the banks on or off as needed to keep them from draining each other and everything. Even with a diode/combiner/whatever, my understanding is that with the batteries each having a different chemistry one would be getting over-charged and one under-charged since I have to put them on the same charging regime, correct? Chargers that can handle more than one bank would allow me to keep the batteries isolated from each other, getting rid of the need for the combiner, also correct?

So anyway, I'm looking at some new chargers and reading through some online resources and Nigel Calder's books and I think I know what I'm looking for. I'm also trying to keep in mind a future upgrade to a LiFePo house battery.