Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-11-2016, 15:58   #1

Location of ground wire - Volvo Penta MD7A

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and happy to start digging into some articles here!

We have an older monohull / Albin Ballad with a Volvo Penta MD7A engine in it. I'm about to dig into a project of removing the fuel pump (potentially) and some other routine maintenance. However, I'm new to working on boat engines. I have limited experience with BMW motorcycles and Toyota Landcruisers and finding that there's a LOT that I'm unfamiliar with on this engine. I've got a good advisor on this project, but it's via phone and email.

I'm trying to locate the ground wire and cut all power to the engine so that I can begin the process of cleaning it to start working on it. I can't seem to find the ground wire (and i'm terrified of batteries). How can I cut all power to the engine?

The battery bank is in the v-berth and is clearly labeled. It's a set of 3 batteries daisy chained together. I can follow the negative terminal (perhaps) to where it connects to the starter but haven't gotten that far. How are where are these things grounded? I know I'm looking for a large gauge wire going that's serving as the ground, but where / how?

We're in a bit of a situation where we can't find a mechanic who will work on this boat, so I'm going to have to roll up my sleeves and use my limited knowledge to perform some simple tasks on this Jurassic engine.

Thanks in advance for any pointers!
wcg78613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2016, 17:11   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: Location of ground wire - Volvo Penta MD7A