Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2020, 12:28   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North East USA
Boat: 1975 Tartan 41'
Posts: 425
Help Finding A-Series Circuit Breaker W/ GND

I need a breaker with at least 3 terminals (power, load and Aux/Gnd) which electrically connects the load to the Aux/ground pin when open(off).


My Tri-light/mast light requires the 2 power lines to switch from power to ground when switching between anchor light and tri-light function.

So, when lead1 has power & lead2 grounded the anchor light ON.

for Tri-light: lead1 grounded & lead2 to power.

I have the 2 leads each run to a breaker in my A-series panel, but the standard breakers float the load terminals when open(off) and the mast light does not work.

Can anyone identify a source for A-series breakers that have a third Auxiliary terminal that the load terminal has continuity to when the breaker is open(off)? Or any recommendations for alternate wiring?
thanks
Zach
__________________

zstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 01:04   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,939
Re: Help Finding A-Series Circuit Breaker W/ GND

You should control via a switch. Feed switch from breaker.

I imagine it must have a diagram.
__________________

smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 04:40   #3
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,971
Re: Help Finding A-Series Circuit Breaker W/ GND

You need a double pole double throw switch with optional centre off wired like this,,,,



(Replace the motor shown with your light)
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 10:15   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North East USA
Boat: 1975 Tartan 41'
Posts: 425
Re: Help Finding A-Series Circuit Breaker W/ GND

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
You should control via a switch. Feed switch from breaker.
.
Thanks, I'd rather not add a separate switch from my switch panel. There are 2 breakers already labeled for the Tri-light and anchor light. And if possible I'd like to keep the function there. I don't want to add a switch elsewhere.

I believe I can solve the problem with 2 relays. See diagram. Will this work to toggle ground and power on Pins1 and pins2 (to mast) or am I missing something??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tri light Wiring.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	202.9 KB
ID:	208256  
zstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GND Best Anchorage/mooring north of St Georges, Grenada robinm Atlantic & the Caribbean 1 08-12-2019 04:37
Help to remove knob on a Klixon circuit breaker Dave_S Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 13 03-12-2018 17:56
Breaker sizing (Amps) in breaker panel geoffr Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 33 28-04-2017 08:26
parallel a circuit breaker skyking2 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 13 03-11-2006 23:00
Continuity Gnd. Fault Test GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 13-10-2005 11:26

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.