Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-01-2021, 11:12   #1

Boat: Farr 50 Pilothouse
Have I ruined my LiFePo4 batteries?

My boat had LiFePo4 batteries installed by the previous owner about a year and half ago. I've had the boat since mid-summer so I have limited experience with them. My boat is on the hard in RI, and because of my stupidity (left the battery switch on), they are now drained down to nothing. My housebank is a 24V bank made of two stacked banks of 4x12V batteries (linked below).

https://szsmartec.en.alibaba.com/pro...171366b93cBbhA

Right now, one bank is around 10.5V and the other is about 11V. Each battery has a built-in bluetooth capable BMS, and only the 11V bank even shows up on my cell-phone app, claiming 2% charge.

For unrelated reasons, my shore power is not working currently, but I can easily run an extension cord from the boat yard's power pedestal.

Have I ruined my batteries?

What type of battery charger should I use to charge them?

Is it ok to charge them in these temperatures (below freezing)?

Any other advice on how to proceed?

Thanks!
Muaddib1116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2021, 11:20   #2

Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Re: Have I ruined my LiFePo4 batteries?

Generally for LFP it is not okay to charge them a low temps. Look at the battery specs to determine what temp you should warm them up to before charging. They should not be used below a certain temperature too.

Operating temp range for Trillian LFP -4F to 140F (Below 32F charging current reduced)
Storage temp range for Trilllian -40f to 140f
(I would warm them up to room temp. then try charging, charging at 32f will be very slow)