Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2016, 13:44   #1

Boat: Albin Vega 27
Going from complicated to simple, any regrets?

Hi folks, I am new to the forum. I purchased a project boat and am in the final stages of completion. Its a small boat and not a lot of room. I plan on coastal cruising. The issue is the wiring, I don't like it for many reasons such as corrosion, chafe, poorly routed,etc. My background is in aviation maintenance/pilot and I like things to be fail safe and tidy. I was considering removing all electric except the D/C basics such as nav lights, vhf. All A/C wire and accessories outlets would be removed. Just going back to a basic boat (nice and clean) with a solar panel and battery bank to power portable nav/com devices. Any flaws in my idea, or am I missing something? Is shore power for a non-live aboard worth the re-wire hassle?
alaskaflyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2016, 13:49   #2

Re: Going from complicated to simple, any regrets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alaskaflyfish View Post
Hi folks, I am new to the forum. I purchased a project boat and am in the final stages of completion. Its a small boat and not a lot of room. I plan on coastal cruising. The issue is the wiring, I don't like it for many reasons such as corrosion, chafe, poorly routed,etc. My background is in aviation maintenance/pilot and I like things to be fail safe and tidy. I was considering removing all electric except the D/C basics such as nav lights, vhf. All A/C wire and accessories outlets would be removed. Just going back to a basic boat (nice and clean) with a solar panel and battery bank to power portable nav/com devices. Any flaws in my idea, or am I missing something? Is shore power for a non-live aboard worth the re-wire hassle?
How big's the boat?