Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2012, 12:35   #1

Boat: Catalina 42
Gell Cell Batteries

I have two 4D gell cell battries for house
I am led to believe that it is written stone that you should never exceed 14.1Volts charge, I have an old freedom inverter charger which has no setting for gel cell
So is there any way I can control the charge voltage to the battries from the charger? by some sort of voltage regulator,
By the way I am no electrical expert so any answers need to be in lay mans terms
Many thanks
Exmoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:52   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bestevaer.
re: Gell Cell Batteries

Gel batteries do vary in the maximimum permitted boost voltage.14.1 is low, but if want to keep it to this as simply as possible the easiest way is to install a diode in series with the battery caharger and see what the voltage is, it's likely to be close, but if is still too high you can add more diodes. Each diode will reduce the voltage about 0.6v.
The diode needs to able to accept the full current from the battery charger and the maximimum voltage needs to be greater than 12v.
So for example with a 30a 12v battery charger, any diode that exceeds these requirements will be OK.
A 50v 50a diode would be fine and gives some margin for voltage spikes.
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:57   #3

Boat: C&C Landfall 39 center cockpit "Anahita"
Gell Cell Battries

One cannot install a diode between a Freedom inverter/charger and a battery bank for use with that unit.

Nothing is written in stone regarding a voltage limit on any lead-acid battery (including gel-cell and AGM).