Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-05-2009, 10:35   #1

Boat: Islander 34
First Electrical System Design

Hey folks,

I'm a newbie to boats, but I'm pretty handy with a soldering iron. I've recently moved aboard a 37' Brown Searunner trimaran, and I'm loving every second, learning to fix wood problems, engine troubles, fiberglass, etc, etc. Now it's time to tackle the electrical system, which are working somewhat decently but there's just not enough battery capacity and the Link10 monitor is apparently dead. I've been working away at the system, but I'm thinking it might just be time to start from the bottom and work my way up, instead of trying to patch and repair what's here.

Seriously, so far most of what I've done is tear out old, unused wiring... and there's a *lot* of it! Runs of 20-year-old wiring from one end of the boat to the other, with the ends lopped off years ago and decaying electrical tape sealing off the cut ends, that sort of thing. I haven't removed anything that's actually working, just the stuff that's obviously not in use. The main electrical "area" is 200% cleaner now - it still looks like a rats nest, but now it looks like the rats at least went to trade school.

I'm thinking it's time to rip (most of) it out and build a firm foundation, then add the working current stuff back in bit by bit.

My goals with this system:

- I will very rarely be attached to shore power. I do not have moorage, and intend to spend most of my time at anchor, cruising around the Gulf Islands. Currently I have a small gas generator, but eventually I would like to add photovoltaic panels, a wind turbine, and possibly a water turbine.