Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-10-2013, 01:19   #1

Boat: 1970 Morgan M38
First batt refit: Criticize my plan

Thanks for looking! Ive always learned a lot from reading on this site and I finally registered as I'm planning and refitting my boat to make a trip around the Gulf Coast, to the Bahamas, and back across the gulf starting next October. I've been sailing for 5 years or so, and I've been sailing very often over the last year since I got the M38. This will be my first major refitting of the boat since I've gotten it.

Context aside, I'm hoping to get some critique on the following electrical overhaul idea.

On an average full day under sail, I expect to use a max of about 240Ah per day. Right now, I've only got the 1985 Yanmar 30hp's alternator (recently installed) to recharge my batteries (2x 12v interstate SRM27). I'm not sure exactly how many amps it produces... anyone have any ideas? I figure about 40 but I dont know... I havent had a working alt till recently and am still getting familiar with it.

I'd like to build 2 battery banks. Engine start battery will be one of the current Interstate batteries (ideally, set as "1" on the battery switch), with another one stashed and charging as a backup. House batteries ("2") with 4 6v batteries producing about 200Ah each unless I can find something with more for a decent price. In a Series/Parallel setup, meaning 2 pairs of paralleled batteries connected in series, I hope to get 400Ah at 12v. I know this is less than 3 times my daily use, but I'm hoping the next part helps...