Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-06-2020, 05:52   #1

Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Evaporate cooling?

Hi,

I just had a thought about cooling a boat cabin a few degrees without an AC overnight.
It's nothing more than a thought, I am no AC expert at all.

Evaporating cooling has been used for centuries down south to cool food. Usually its a clay jar with the food inside. Than a wet cloth is put on top and the contraption is put in the shade.

Now I wonder if you could not achieve a few degrees cooling of a cabin by attaching a small waterpump and a fan outside so that say every few minutes the deck is just kept moist over the cabin.
Then let a gentle breeze evaporate the water.
This is meant as an added effect to normal fans and ventilation inside.

Would that work to some degrees? Sounds a lot more energy efficient than a mini AC. Maybe someone with know how on heat calculations can run some numbers to check?
We are not talking about an AC sized effect but say 5 degrees centigrade from ambient, which could already improve comfort level considerably.

As I said, its just a thought in the wild.
Old 22-06-2020, 06:00   #2

Boat: 2000 Searay 380 Sundancer
Re: Evaporate cooling?

Yes, evaporative cooling could provide the desired results. Periodic bursts of water sprayed onto the top deck will extract internal heat.
wingless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2020, 06:44   #3

We've toyed with the idea but it didn't really have much effect, so we quit (southeast USA)

It's actually quite effective in desert environments. Swamp coolers are common in the desert SW. Problem is as the humidity gets higher, it doesn't work very well. The problem is all the water around a cruising boat means a lot of cruising areas have moderate to high humidity.