Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-09-2020, 08:08   #1

Boat: Beneteau First 42
Effect of Off Cycle 120v Power Supply?

Friends of ours have a smallish diesel generator on their boat that seems to run well but is not reliably generating 60 Cycle power. Reportedly, its output inexplicably falls to 51 to 55 CPS at times. As I've done the diesel generator battles for several years on our boat he asked me what the adverse effect on his AC equipment might be if he continues using the machine while awaiting repairs/correction (e.g. on his air conditioning system which is vital here in southwest Florida at certain times of the year). Unfortunately, tho' I have worked on the motor, I have very little knowledge of things Electrical and so thought someone on the Forum might have some insight to contribute. (My own counsel was "Don't continue to use the thing", but, what do I know!).

Any knowledgeable comments will be appreciated.

/s/ svHyLyte
"It is not so much for its beauty that the Sea makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air, that emanation from the waves, that so wonderfully renews a weary spirit."
svHyLyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2020, 08:16   #2

Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Re: Effect of Off Cycle 120v Power Supply?

Most electronics don't mind a little frequency dip.

Anything with a clock will run slower.

AC motors will run slower, and draw more current.

Transformers will get hot.

a 5 hertz drift is unlikely to damage anything, Some appliances are designed to run on both 50hertz, and 60 hertz, although most will run better at the designed frequency.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2020, 09:00   #3

Boat: Hunter 356 35'6"