Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-07-2011, 07:52   #1

Could My ACR Be Stuck Open ?

My first post to the forums. I am also relatively new to boating - but I am learning.

My starter batteries are not charging. My house bank is separated from starter batteries by Blue Sea Automatic Charging Relay (ACR) with all charging sources going to house bank. System has worked fine without problem. Recently, when charging (from Xantrex inverter/charger), the undervoltage indicator light on the ACR remains on, which I believe indicates that the ACR is open (starter batteries not combined with house bank and therefore not getting charged). When charging, the voltage on the housebank is over 14v and my starter batteries are now 11.8 V. My suspiscion is that the ACR may be malfunctioning and is stuck open. Do these things malfunction? What might I be missing?

Note: After first noticing the problem, I had the starter batteries tested, and some cells were dead so I replaced them - but charging problem still persists.

(I did a search on the forums and didn't find anything right on point - if there are past threads on this issue please direct me to them and accept my apology)
Defiance II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2011, 08:14   #2

Boat: Gulfstar, Mark II Ketch, 43'
Re: Could my ACR be stuck open?

Welcome Aboard Cruisers Forum
Unicorn Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2011, 08:19   #3
Building a Bateau TW28

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bateau TW28 Long Cabin

Switch the leads to the different battery banks from the ACR and see if the situation reverses itself.
knottybuoyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2011, 08:59   #4
Eternal Member