Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2021, 07:01   #1

Boat: Custom 47' Wood Epoxy Cat- Alcazar
Build thread: 24v system from scratch

Hello everyone,

After a lot of lurking and learning I think I can hopefully help some people by documenting and sharing my own experiences rebuilding my boats electrical system from nearly scratch.

I will break down where I started and where I’m going and hopefully someone in a similar situation can perhaps benefit from my shared experience.

Before we go any further, I would like to disclaim that I am NOT qualified to give advice on marine electronics. In fact I have very little experience at all; anything I say is just what I say, it carries no authority and you use this information at your own risk.

I would like to share more useful things like a wiring diagram, but I don’t have a computer and am doing everything from my phone currently. I don’t really have the means to make one at the moment.

The boat is a 47’ft cat, slim-ish hulls so weight is a important consideration.

The boat is new to me and this is my first major upgrade. The existing electrical system is functional and would perhaps be sufficient for modest needs. I often have 7 or 8 crew aboard and plan for a watermaker so more power is a must. The existing batteries do not seem to pull their rated capacity.

Here is what we currently have onboard:
6 x Trojan T105 Golf Cart Batteries
4 x Siemens 75 watt rigid panels
Morning star 20 amp charge controller
Super wind sw 350 windgen
Synergex 1500 watt 220v inverter
Victron Centaur 12v 80 amp battery charger
2x Victron Cyrix 12/24v 120 amp battery connectors (allows alternator charging)
2 start batteries for the engines
1 working 85 amp alternator
1 non functional 85 amp alternator