Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2016, 11:41   #1

Boat: 40' Jeanneau
Air Conditioning for Med Cruise?

Hi all. Soliciting some advice from experienced Mediterranean cruisers.

Our 40' boat has a U.S. AC electrical system: two 30-amp shore-power cords. These feed a battery charger, water heater, two air-conditioning units (12,000 and 9,000 btu, reverse cycle), and the electrical outlets. We can (and usually do) run the refrigerator and TV off DC power.

The 9,000 btu air conditioner unit has aged out. I'm studying replacing it, but also thinking of sailing next summer to the Mediterranean, where the plan would be to spend May-July of the next four years or so there and leave the boat on the hard the other months of the year.

Have read extensively on European AC conversions, and think these may be my options:

1) do not replace the 9,000 btu unit. Sail to Europe, buy a portable isolation transformer, and live without air conditioning over there for the next few years. Fix the U.S. air conditioning when we get back. (Cost= $400?)

2) Install an isolation transformer, do not replace the 9,000 btu unit, but use the existing 12,000 btu unit on 50 hertz in the Med (transformed to 115 volts) until we maybe burn up the motors. (cost $600 now?)

3) Replace the 9,000 btu unit with a new U.S. model. Add a Next Gen 115-volt generator, use generator for all AC needs while in Med. (cost= $7500?)

4) Replace both air conditioners with 230/240 volt, 50/60 hertz Webasto models, replace the water heater element, replace the battery charger, replace the AC panel and shore power inlet, and convert to a full AC system that would work both in the U.S. and Europe (cost= $5000?)

Assume doing all my own installation.