Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2019, 19:10   #1

Boat: Dickerson 37AC
Adding ACR, Balmar SG200, new batteries, bus bars...

Figured I would document some rewiring I'm doing on my Dickerson 37.

This all started last fall with a weak starter battery, which led me to test all my batteries, which led me to buying all new batteries, which led to....scope creep

I'm converting my house bank to (2) 6V GC2 batteries. The engine start will remain a Group 31 FLA.

As I dug into the wiring it became clear the only way I would be happy is to redo much of it.

I read Maine Sails excellent treatise on ACRs and everything just made sense. He was kind enough to include a great schematic so I studied it until it made sense.

I didn't like the 3 switch setup since I wanted to utilize my existing Perko cutout. Found a Blue Sea parallel switch that does just what I want.

Over the last few years daysailing and a bit longer I tend to get lazy about what battery I'm on and sometimes start from house bank and vice versa. Hopefully this setup should take all guess work out and I'm excited to see how the Balmar works.

In order to fit all this in, I have a severely cramped battery area. I measured out a board and started laying things out. I enjoy wiring projects as it's an opportunity to build my skills. I also have a machine shop so I have no fear about fabricating things which you'll see later.

This is preliminary layout. The copper busbars are due to the fact I simply don't have space to lay out cabling and fuse things. I am not sure what the protocol is with bare copper though.

The plan is to bring in the house + to top left, along with windlass. Feeding from + busbar will be alternator, charger, house panel feed, ACR.