Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-02-2020, 02:50   #1

Boat: Najad 373
About to change my house bank, please help!

I am no physics expert, I enjoy learning on the job and I feel I learnt a lot over the past weeks about batteries, charging schemes and types of use etc thanks to the many contributions on these topics on CF. I am about to change batteries and am facing some questions that I hope I can get advice on. Here is the context.

My service batteries (2xFLA) have started to loose strength down to a point where I had to choose between AP and fridge to keep voltage above 12v in day-long (over 10hrs) passages last summer. They are 7-8y old. During one winter (2y ago) I inadvertently left the boat (on the dry) with the shore power cable connected to the boat (but not to the grid) and service batteries went down to 3v, something that hit them a bit (reduced amps) but did not kill them though. I had so far no real clue of the need to ensure they were as close as full prior to leaving the boat for a week of 2 throughout the sailing season. Topping them up was my only routine I must confess.

I did quite a bit of reading on CF and elsewhere in order to assess the best way forward.