Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2014, 03:37   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Eastern Mediterranean
Boat: Jeanneau 54DS
Posts: 128
Re: Wind instrument mast cable run frustrations.

I'd be very interested to learn how you were able to insert the dremel 30 cm above the step. Did you take pictures by any chance?

Clearly, you are very agile with your fingers!!!

Congrats on the new cables :-)
Phoenician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 03:59   #17
Registered User
 
2Wind's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 312
Re: Wind instrument mast cable run frustrations.

My dremel has a motor unit from which a flexible drive extends to the bit. The diameter of the bit is about 1.2cm. I cut a 1.8cm hole just above the existing cable exit hole on the leading edge of the mast. By taping the end section of the flexible drive unit to the long sturdy metal rod, I could control the dremel when it was deep inside the mast, cutting the access hole in the conduit which lay directly on the opposite side of the mast. The only vision was via the camera, which was able to be passed through the existing hole just below the dremel port. I will have to bung or cover the new access hole as it is now no longer required.

No picture, but should have in retrospect.
__________________
"Second Wind"
Lagoon 440 Hull #30
Brisbane, Australia.
2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 00:03   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Eastern Mediterranean
Boat: Jeanneau 54DS
Posts: 128
Re: Wind instrument mast cable run frustrations.

Thanks for the info, might come in handy if I ever have to drill a hole in similar circumstances. And Kudos for your skills, I guess the "brain surgery" comment should be taken only half in jest :-)
Phoenician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 08:04   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 67
Re: Wind instrument mast cable run frustrations.

Thanks for sharing! I have the very same problem with my 53' Annapolis Spars mast: electronic cables stuck, eventually removing the mast (about time to sand and remove all crud before re-painting same) for servicing. Mast down and still not able to pull the old cables from withing the conduit. I do not see removable access ports at top of mast, nor spreaders. I've lubricated will all imaginable concoxions with no luck. I'm in Acapulco, with very limited technical resources here, awaiting one of those scope cameras purchased on eBay- problem is length of cable- anyone know of a provider for the scope cable needed= 53'
I'm afraid to winch the cables and doing more harm... i'm thinking a cable relief web inside, maybe?
FXbyLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mast, men, rum, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:19.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.