Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2017, 21:54   #1

Boat: Lagoon 450
Electrical Question

Hi everyone! New to this site but love love love all the advice and support you share among each other. I am also fairly new to the world of sailing. We have had our 2011 450 for about a year now and just love spending time on her. I am in need of some electrical knowledge on how the 2011 is wired.

My question is: Do both engines, when running, charge the house batteries? It seems like they do individual tasks like the PS for the windlass and the SS for the water heater, but what about the house batteries? I have scoured the manual and nothing. There are 2 battery chargers on board. A 60A and 40A and they are of course located in the SS engine compartment. Soooooo can one of you very savvy electrical Lagoon 450 guys help a girl figure this out?

J
On The Brink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2017, 22:43   #2

Boat: Outremer 50S
Re: Electrical Question

As long as the switches are in the correct positions then both engines/alternators are capable of charging the house bank. The drawing should be here:

http://www.cata-lagoon.com/site_agen...rop_450_uk.pdf

This was January 2011, which should cover most 2011 production. Look at the "Synoptic" on page F24-1 and the schematic on F25-1. The purple lines on the synoptic are the charging cables from the alternators. They go to junctions/isolators 117 and 118. From there both junctions have a line that goes to switch 105, which is the house bank disconnect. As long as 105 is closed (and the junctions are working properly) either or both engines/alternators should charge the house bank as well as their own starting bank.
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 03:40   #3