Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-05-2014, 09:49   #1

Boat: Catalina 250
Seeking Blue Water

Hi all,
In the coming weeks I will be seeking a crew position sailing to ... somewhere.

This has been a dream of mine for some time, and after I get some loose ends tied up, I'll be ready to go.

I believe I can be a valuable asset to a passage-making crew. I have moderate sailing experience (USSA cert., I've sailed my C250 in SF Bay, Lake Superior, Chesapeake Bay, Sea of Cortez, and many minor water bodies). I am also a nationally registered EMT, former Wilderness EMT, an experienced Le Cordon Bleu certified chef, HAM radio operator (KE7TPW), and experienced with computers and GPS (studied Geomatics). I also have also participated in many longish (30 day+) terrestrial 'expeditions' from Africa to high mountains to the low arctic, so I'm familiar with what it takes to 'get along' in harsh, cramped environments for extended periods of time. I don't scare easy, but am by no means reckless. Master's degree education level, clean bill of health, etc.

How does one seek the right captain and boat? How do I go about this? I hope to sail sometime this summer.

Tropics or high latitudes, it don' matter right now.

All advice welcome.
Old 17-05-2014, 17:45   #2

Boat: 21 ft sail boat
Re: Seeking Blue Water

If you are a certified chef, then the right captain will find you.
Old 17-05-2014, 18:25   #3

Boat: Key West 2020 CC

"This has been a dream of mine for some time, and after I get some loose ends tied up, I'll be ready to go."

Uglyhat, still trying to tie up those loose ends I see.
Its been almost 5 years to the day since you last posted almost the same exact message. Did you ever find any crew positions?

Old 17-05-2014, 18:35   #4

Ouch 5 years was it that long? I guess so. A woman came between me and my dreams. What can I say? It's not too late tho, hehe. Besides, my cooking and medical skills have only improved ;~).