Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2014, 13:33   #1

Responsible, Mature Novice

Hi!
I am a 52 year old woman, an English teacher on a sabbatical until September. I would love to spend some time on the sea- we are having the endless winter here in upstate NY. I haven't sailed since I was 16, and that was on a 14 foot boat in a bay, so I don't have experience. I do, however, have a good pair of eyes, (except for reading, need my glasses!,) maturity, responsibility and an understanding of the serious nature of sailing. When I am on watch, your boat will be in good hands.

I want to learn, learn quickly, and respect knowledgeable people. Since I am a novice, I am not going to be questioning you, or doing it my way. I'm not skinny, not fat, but I am fit and strong - I run every other day, swim and am able to work most people half my age under the table. I have my NAUI certification, although I haven't gone diving in about 10 years.

I don't drink, smoke or do drugs, but I'm not an old school marm. I have a good sense of humor and irony - I've survived teaching high schoolers for 23 years! And I love my students!

I'm up for a trip with kind, fun people. I myself am kind, but tough. I am not a quitter, in anything. I am married and my husband is encouraging me to use my sabbatical time well - plus he gets really seasick, so he's keeping the home fires burning if I go. I am free from now to May 6th, and then May 20th to June 26th, and then fromJune 30th to Sept 1st. I am willing to contribute reasonable costs to the boat.

If you think I be an asset, get in touch. My email is sunrayany@gmail.com. (I thought I posted this already, but can't find it, so if I did, forgive me.)
Old 05-04-2014, 08:35   #2

Boat: Catalina 34
Send a message via Yahoo to Capt Robert
Re: Responsible, Mature Novice