Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2014, 20:58   #1

Boat: Nic Bailey design Scat Venture West, 40ft Epoxy carbon foam sandwich construction
Panama - Tahiti - Australia

Hi all, This is a rather lengthy post as this information will save me and you lots of energy sending questions and replying to questions and hopefully will give you a better idea of your suitability for this adventure.

The boat (Oflo) is a custom designed 40 foot cat. She has completed 2 circum-navigations and at least 10 Atlantic crossings She was designed by Nic Bailey and built by the Venture West Catamaran team. Oflo is a very light weight (carbon/kevlar foam sandwich) and happily cruises at around 10 knots. She is not however a luxury boat, there is only one head (toilet), the fresh water shower is a foot pumped affair and we do not use a fridge! Each crew member will get their own cabin.

I am a professional skipper (commercially endorsed yacht master ocean) from the U.K. I have travelled, sailed & lived abroad for the last 12 years. I’m looking at transiting the canal in late March/April. Sailing experience is not essential but some is obviously good. Long passages can be rather tough! Galapagos to Marquesas could take up to three weeks which in a confined space can be troubling for some people. Ideally the crew will be relaxed, friendly, tolerant, relatively clean and organised. Each crew member will cook, clean and stand watch.

Oflo has the following safety equipment. A skipper that puts safety at the top of his agenda, EPIRB, Life raft, sat phone, AIS, sea anchor and a drogue.