Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available > Crew Archives
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012, 08:48   #1

Looking to Crew Across the Atlantic

I'm a 19-year-old taking a gap year who is looking to cross the Atlantic in January or early Feb going to Europe. I have limited experience and knowledge (sailing school as a small child, vacation on a catamaran, and I know knots from scouts), but I am eager to learn and do.

P.S. I'll also be looking to crew back across the Atlantic to the US around July/August.
Old 02-01-2012, 09:35   #2

Boat: a sailing boat
Re: Looking to Crew across the Atlantic

Now that's we call a lippy yank greenhorn.

;-)
b.
Old 02-01-2012, 09:53   #3

Boat: International Etchells USA 125 Black Magic, Santana 20 475 Ghost, Hobie 33 3100 Bruja, dinghies,
Re: Looking to Crew across the Atlantic

The original poster might care to figure out why ships may have their lowest Plimsoll line "wna" for winter north Atlantic. That's a way of saying that many prudent sailors would be reluctant to take a boat across the north Atlantic in winter and that there will be many fewer boats available. Cruising boats tend to go in certain routes at certain times and winter north Atlantic isn't one of them.
Old 02-01-2012, 10:23   #4

Re: Looking to Crew Across the Atlantic

Yes, I do not really know how to go about this or what I'm doing, but I'm trying. I'm trying to figure out what times of the year ships do cross the Atlantic and from where. I did not think I would find a ship crossing in Jan, but I would like to go ahead and figure out how or where to find one for my return trip (my main reason for posting).