Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-08-2012, 01:23   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York City
Posts: 10
Hoping to work my way across the Atlantic


I am looking for passage on any boat leaving eastern North America and heading to Europe or North Africa sometime in September or early October. I realize these aren't the best months, but I'm giving it a shot anyhow. I am a hard worker, and good at following orders, also good at getting along with people.

I recently graduated from a journalism master's program and I'm spending the next few month freelancing, while I look for more steady work. I am heading to southern Europe and north Africa. But I love the ocean and I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to experience the open sea, rather than hopping on a flight, and being there in 6 hours.

I don't want to exaggerate or miss represent myself, so my sailing experience is as follows: I can rig and sail a dinghy pretty well, I learned on San Francisco bay during college, and I'm comptent (it's not that hard). I also occasionally participated in yacht races, crewing, on the SF bay. So, though I know my way around a boat, knots, and the basics, I do not know the finer points, and wouldn't call myself a real sailor.

However, I worked a summer up in Alaska as a salmon fisherman. We were on a small boat, with an outboard motor. I was a deckhand, dealing with the nets and fish. But I know that I don't get seasick, and I know that I don't mind being freezing and wet and working hard, in the middle of the night, without sleep for a few days at a time. Another important thing, I can take orders. This was very necessary on the fishing boat.

My other work experience includes about a year as a carpenter's apprentice, and about 2-3 years as a plumber's assistant. I've also done some sheet metal work, and other construction work, and I once as a handyman at a marina, mostly patching up fiberglass. That's all my hands on work experience. In addition I've worked as a substitute teacher, at a grocery store and in restaurants. I can cook a few alright dishes that my mom taught me, but nothing fancy, again, I wouldn't call myself a cook.

I also speak fluent Spanish.

I'm 28, strong, 6'4", in decent shape, with no ailments. Don't use drugs, don't drink heavily, and I don't smoke. I'm pretty easy going. I've been in tight quarters and working situations with all kinds of people, and I pride myself in being able to get along with anyone.

I'm just going through the stats here, so let's see what else I should add. I graduated from UC Berkeley with a degree in anthropology, I'm from Los Angeles originally, and I've been in New York for the last year.

Any responses would be welcome, thank you for your time.

ARFB is offline  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Advertise Here

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.