Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 16:45   #1

Boat: Kadey Krogen 42
Down the East Coast in a 42' Trawler

Seeking a Crew Member for a Cruise down the East Coast from Maine to Florida and the Bahamas in October and November.

I’m an ex-meteorologist and teacher, who now loves to travel and keeping busy until my wife can stop working. I’ve lived the last 30 years, Europe, Alaska and now New York, where I grew up.

I just spent a relatively short day cruising from Gloucester to Plymouth Mass, where I am now anchored, watching a thunderstorm move through. I am warm and cozy on Dauntless, a 1988 Kadey Krogen 42’ trawler. It’s not fast, it’s not sexy, but will pretty much go anywhere in safety and a little comfort.

I’m telling you this because I could use some help keeping watch, light cleaning and plain conversation. What you don’t know, I am willing to and like to teach. I try to go off shore depending upon weather, waves and current, and usually anchor each night after 8 to 12 hour days. Once in a while, when circumstances warrant, I have had longer days and overnight passages.

Between the second or third week of October and early December, I will be cruising from Maine down the east coast, stopping in central Florida, for two weeks, before ending in the Bahamas (Abacos) by the end of November.

I am looking for one crew member who is outgoing, easy going, and willing to learn. Experience is not necessary, as I will teach the fundamentals of watch keeping, including navigation, radar and weather interpretation. I do the routine maintenance and we’ll share the normal boat chores, though I like doing most of the cooking. You will have plenty of time to read.

Young is better than old, just because I like open minded people who don’t know it all, just as I realize I don’t know it all. I also don’t have much patience for entitled adults. If you don’t know what that means, that’s probably good.