Cruisers Forum
 


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2013, 12:15   #1
Registered User
 
Tim R.'s Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, Maine
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 607
Garmin chartplotters and radar

2010 Garmin 3206 chartplotter with built in detailed US coastal charts and basemap. $650
Includes the following:
- Power/signal/antenna cable
- Antenna
- Mounting bracket
- Programmable Garmin card
- Garmin card reader/programmer
- Manual

2010 Garmin 3206 chartplotter with built in detailed US coastal charts and basemap. $500
Includes:
- Power/signal/antenna cable

2010 Garmin GMR18HD radome $750

These units are installed on my present boat and are in perfect working order. I have them networked together using a GMS 10 with one at the helm and one at the nav station so that is why there is only one antenna. Selling because i would like to upgrade to newer Garmin products.

$1,800 if you want everything.


Plus shipping. Will ship to continental US only.



__________________
Tim R.
Our Carina is sold
1997 Caliber 40LRC
TKR on a Boat Website
Tim R. is offline  
Old 10-12-2013, 18:02   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
Where are you located?
bloodline is offline  
Old 10-12-2013, 18:47   #3
Registered User
 
Tim R.'s Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, Maine
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 607
Portland, Maine, USA.
__________________
Tim R.
Our Carina is sold
1997 Caliber 40LRC
TKR on a Boat Website
Tim R. is offline  
Old 23-01-2014, 12:36   #4
Registered User
 
Tim R.'s Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, Maine
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 607
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Chart plotters are sold. Radar is still available.
__________________
Tim R.
Our Carina is sold
1997 Caliber 40LRC
TKR on a Boat Website
Tim R. is offline  
Old 03-02-2014, 17:42   #5
Registered User
 
Tim R.'s Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, Maine
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim R. View Post
Chart plotters are sold. Radar is still available.
bump.
__________________
Tim R.
Our Carina is sold
1997 Caliber 40LRC
TKR on a Boat Website
Tim R. is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 11:56   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 15
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Is it a 18hd ?
jchris1843 is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 11:58   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 15
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

I will offer 450.oo
jchris1843 is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 12:02   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 15,215
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Hi Tim,

Does the radome come with all cables and whatever I may need to connect to my plotter? I won't be networking the system but connecting directly to my Garmin 740s plotter.

Thanks
Skip
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.
Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 17:01   #9
Registered User
 
Tim R.'s Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, Maine
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 607
[QUOTE="jchris1843;1458775"]Is it a 18hd ?[/QUOTE
Yes.
__________________
Tim R.
Our Carina is sold
1997 Caliber 40LRC
TKR on a Boat Website
Tim R. is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 17:04   #10
Registered User
 
Tim R.'s Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, Maine
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post
Hi Tim, Does the radome come with all cables and whatever I may need to connect to my plotter? I won't be networking the system but connecting directly to my Garmin 740s plotter. Thanks Skip
Skip, It comes with the power cable. The network cable will not work for a direct connection to a chart plotter. The cable I have only works if you have a Garmin network expander. The cable from Garmin is not too expensive. I will discount my asking price to account for the network cable you would need.
__________________
Tim R.
Our Carina is sold
1997 Caliber 40LRC
TKR on a Boat Website
Tim R. is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 17:09   #11
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14,461
Images: 3
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim R. View Post
Skip, It comes with the power cable. The network cable will not work for a direct connection to a chart plotter. The cable I have only works if you have a Garmin network expander. The cable from Garmin is not too expensive. I will discount my asking price to account for the network cable you would need.
As a person that has this setup. There is one network connector on the back of the plotter , the radar will connect in there directly if you wire the Ethernet cable as a cross over cable.

Dave
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 17:29   #12
Registered User
 
Tim R.'s Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, Maine
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
As a person that has this setup. There is one network connector on the back of the plotter , the radar will connect in there directly if you wire the Ethernet cable as a cross over cable. Dave
True. I should have said the cable that I have will not work but you can cut it and crimp on a new connector and align the wires so it is a cross over. I would not recommend doing this unless you have experience crimping cat 5 cables. I have worked in the IT industry over 25 years and I know how to properly crimp cables but I still buy them ready made as they are usually more reliable. The garmin network cables come with a removable locking collar so they will fit through holes that only need to be as big as a RJ45 connector.
__________________
Tim R.
Our Carina is sold
1997 Caliber 40LRC
TKR on a Boat Website
Tim R. is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 19:46   #13
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 15,215
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim R. View Post
Skip, It comes with the power cable. The network cable will not work for a direct connection to a chart plotter. The cable I have only works if you have a Garmin network expander. The cable from Garmin is not too expensive. I will discount my asking price to account for the network cable you would need.
Hi Tim,

First let me confess that I'm a newbie with this Garmin. Just got it a few weeks ago and haven't even installed it yet (although I have gotten to play with a couple on other boats).

So started researching the radar cable and haven't found anything that says it's direct connect radar to chart plotter but have found several labeled "network" cables. This includes looking on the Garmin web site.

Next step I dug out the plotter to see what's on the back and found a socket labeled "Radar Only" (I could tell right away that was the one to check ) which looked pretty much like it would take a standard Ethernet cat5 cable. So grabbed an old Ethernet cable out of the computer parts bin and it popped right in.

So is it possible that the network cable is also the same cable that connects directly to the plotter? Is what you have an Ethernet type connector?

Thanks
Skip
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.
Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 19:51   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 15,215
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Well I see that much has happened while I was typing and looking at my 740. Seems like my question was answered before I asked. And Dave's info about the crossover anticipated my next question.

So the I need a cable with a crossover on a couple of the wires for direct connect vs a straight through that would connect to the network?
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.
Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 19:58   #15
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14,461
Images: 3
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post
Well I see that much has happened while I was typing and looking at my 740. Seems like my question was answered before I asked. And Dave's info about the crossover anticipated my next question.

So the I need a cable with a crossover on a couple of the wires for direct connect vs a straight through that would connect to the network?
Yup , easy peasy
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline  
 

Tags
chartplotter, garmin, radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.