Cruisers Forum
 


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2014, 20:16   #16
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 15,215
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
Yup , easy peasy
Well, one would think, but Garmin doesn't have any cables listed separately on their website for the radar. Under accessories for the 740 they list transducer cables, 6-8 pin adapter cables, power/data cables, etc but nothing for radar.

If you look at the Radome the parts in the box includes a "network cable". No further details. The only accessory cables offered are for heading sensors.

Unless someone has a part number guess I'll have to give Garmin tech support a call. I have to agree with Tim. Did my bit repairing computers and installing networks and like the pro made cables. Especially in this situation where the plotter will be exposed to wet and I want a waterproof connection.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.
Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 20:18   #17
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14,461
Images: 3
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post
Well, one would think, but Garmin doesn't have any cables listed separately on their website for the radar. Under accessories for the 740 they list transducer cables, 6-8 pin adapter cables, power/data cables, etc but nothing for radar.

If you look at the Radome the parts in the box includes a "network cable". No further details. The only accessory cables offered are for heading sensors.

Unless someone has a part number guess I'll have to give Garmin tech support a call. I have to agree with Tim. Did my bit repairing computers and installing networks and like the pro made cables. Especially in this situation where the plotter will be exposed to wet and I want a waterproof connection.
Then buy a standard Ethernet cable. There's nothing special about garmins

Dave
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 20:24   #18
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 15,215
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
Then buy a standard Ethernet cable. There's nothing special about garmins

Dave
Well that's an idea. And if I understand, the waterproof caps that cover the socket on the back of the display are available separately and snap on.

Will just have to get a long cable. Any idea of the bandwidth on this? Any old cat5 work or should I get a cat5e or even cat6 due to the length? The way I'll have to route from the radome to the display could be 30-40'.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.
Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 20:28   #19
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14,461
Images: 3
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post
Well that's an idea. And if I understand, the waterproof caps that cover the socket on the back of the display are available separately and snap on.

Will just have to get a long cable. Any idea of the bandwidth on this? Any old cat5 work or should I get a cat5e or even cat6 due to the length? The way I'll have to route from the radome to the display could be 30-40'.
Cat 5 is fines, it's 10baseT

Dave
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 20:48   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 15,215
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
Cat 5 is fines, it's 10baseT

Dave
Thanks
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.
Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 07:08   #21
Registered User
 
Tim R.'s Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, Maine
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 607
Re: Garmin chartplotters and radar

Radar is sold.
__________________
Tim R.
Our Carina is sold
1997 Caliber 40LRC
TKR on a Boat Website
Tim R. is offline  
 

Tags
chartplotter, garmin, radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.