Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-05-2012, 19:53   #1

Family Sailboat

Hi everyone... here is yet another first timer on the forum.
I have some sailing experience (approximately 30 hrs) and am willing to purchase a boat to sail with my family.
I am looking at 34-44' and a budget of probably $20k - $30k. Was looking at O'Day 37 CC, or no CC, and Cherubini.

Safety is priority and NO PROJECT Boats.

Any and all ideas, suggestions, preferences are welcome.
Old 21-05-2012, 20:42   #2

what is your budget for expenses every year? are you handy? can you work on motors?
Old 21-05-2012, 20:45   #3

Re: Family Sailboat

I am handy, Mechanical Engineer...with a good grasp of Fluid Dynamics. Generally, system issues I can solve, however If I need to repair, I get it done, but it is a mess but works...
Budget, annually.... didn't think of it, however, I think I can cover general operating expenses and probably one major annual issue...
Old 21-05-2012, 21:24   #4
cruiser

Boat: Hunter 31'

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluiddynamicist View Post
I am handy, Mechanical Engineer...with a good grasp of Fluid Dynamics. Generally, system issues I can solve, however If I need to repair, I get it done, but it is a mess but works...
Budget, annually.... didn't think of it, however, I think I can cover general operating expenses and probably one major annual issue...

What kind of waters will you be sailing in? The Cherubini, for instance, is a tender boat that will bounce around a lot in rough waters. It seems unlikely to me that none of the members of your family will be prone to seasickness. No family is that lucky.

I have a Hunter and I advise my passengers to take Bonine the night before if there's any chance of rough water. it's a tender boat and it feels the motion of the water more.