Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2020, 20:45   #1

Standing Rigging

When I'm on a port tack, the 10mm port rigging cable moves around about 100mm and rattles in the chainplate, ditto with starboard tack, the mast is centred. This happens cruising at 6 to 7 kt's in a 10 to 15kt breeze. I'm fairly new to the boat and sailing in general, and mostly I'm single handed cruising.

Can I just gradually tighten the adjusters at the chainplates until it stops thrashing around. The previous owner replaced the rigging 2 years ago. The rigging on the shrouds is very tight.
Voster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 04:40   #2

Boat: Fountaine Pajot Athena 11.6m Rapa Nui II
Re: Standing Rigging

Our shroud goes slack at about 20 kts AWS which is where I normally reef. Yours probably needs tightening a smidge. I am not sure you can ever get the rig tight enough to prevent all flexing,

The danger with the shroud flexing is that the wire could fatigue, particulary near stress points like a terminal.

I have seen an Athena with a line secured to the shroud about 1/3rd the way up and taken aft to a cleat on the side deck. If the line has some stretch, that would keep the shroud from flexing and vibrating.
Rapanui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 05:33   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler

Rapanui has it right. You don't want it so tight that there is no evidence of flexing. That could be putting an unreasonable pre-load on the windward shroud. On the other hand, you rig sounds loose. Do your tightening when the boat is sitting without sails up, and equalize it by deflection- how far you can deflect each by pushing with your hand. Riggers may have a deflection gauge to put numbers on this.
Old 03-12-2020, 06:06   #4