Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2018, 09:08   #1
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 838
Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Installed a Yacht Devices NMEA 200 Wifi transmitter. My windows 10 machine gets the data, but apparently I don't have the configuration correct in OpenCPN. I am using the correct IP address and port.

Suggestions?

How many ports can be assigned the same priority? I have 3 assigned priority 1 - GPS, AIS and wifi.
__________________

TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 10:32   #2
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 3,796
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Please post your settings.
__________________

bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 06:51   #3
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 838
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

It is set to 183.168.4.1 port 1456, UDP,
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 07:17   #4
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 3,796
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

A screenshot from the communication settings of OpenCPN perhaps?
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 07:43   #5
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 838
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

if it works
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0217.jpg
Views:	193
Size:	347.8 KB
ID:	169491   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0219.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	355.9 KB
ID:	169492  

TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 07:47   #6
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 3,796
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

For UDP input no IP is required. Try just going with the port.

0.0.0.0 :1456

More details in the manual under communication settings, just in case.
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 07:50   #7
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 838
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Thanks! I will give it a try!
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 10:56   #8
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,093
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

For UDP NMEA senders if you make the last octet of the IP address 255 then messages should go to all devices on that subnet.

In OpenCPN the address should be 0.0.0.0 (donít care) and the port number must match the sending port number. Also, any router in between the sender and O must be configured to not block the assigned port number. Sometimes a really high port number (like 10110) will not be blocked.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 15:58   #9
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,958
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Connections - Add a Network Connection - 3 Choices TGP, UDP & GPSD


UDP
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2018, 19:29   #10
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 838
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Did it as TCP. Works great!
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2018, 10:05   #11
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,093
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Yes, TCP works ok for connecting 2 and only 2 systems to one another. However, most people want to share the NMEA data with multiple devices (tablet, PC, handheld phone, etc.) and TCP is not a good option for that. That is where UDP to a multicast IP address is really handy.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2018, 10:41   #12
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 838
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Thanks! I was not aware of the limitation on TCP.
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2018, 19:07   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Boat: Catalina 320 Mk II
Posts: 8
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Yes, TCP works ok for connecting 2 and only 2 systems to one another. However, most people want to share the NMEA data with multiple devices (tablet, PC, handheld phone, etc.) and TCP is not a good option for that. That is where UDP to a multicast IP address is really handy.
Perhaps one of you can help me. I'm going nuts. I just cannot get my Microsoft Surface Pro to read the GPS info from the RPi over wifi using the RPi as a wireless AP. I used the OpenPlotter NOOBS install for the RPi. I have been able to get a Windows 10 desktop to read the GPS multicast from the RPi, but when I use exactly the same setting on my Surface, nada.

RPi connections:
- Type: Network
- Protocol: UDP
- Address: 10.10.10.255
- Data Port: 10110
- Input: No
- Output: Yes

Windows machine connections (desktop and Surface Pro):
- Type: Network
- Protocol: UDP
- Address: 0.0.0.0
- Data Port: 10110
- Input: Yes
- Output: No
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2018, 05:13   #14
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,093
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Can the RPi ping the surface pro machine?
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2018, 05:19   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Boat: Catalina 320 Mk II
Posts: 8
Re: Yacht Devices NMEA wifi to OpenCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Can the RPi ping the surface pro machine?
No it can't, but what is weird is that I can VNC to the RPi from the Surface Pro.

Just checked that I can ping the desktop from the RPi
__________________

MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, nmea, opencpn, wifi, yacht

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to use same terminals for multiple NMEA 0183 devices? Deep6 Marine Electronics 29 12-02-2017 12:56
Garmin 2010C Chartplotter Interface With NMEA 0183 Devices Mikado Marine Electronics 6 05-05-2016 05:51
For Sale: Comar NMEA-2-WIFI NMEA 0183 Converter $230 4arch Classifieds Archive 1 02-11-2015 04:02
OpenCPN and Comar NMEA 2 Wifi Pieter OpenCPN 22 01-04-2015 14:03
Multiplexing NMEA on a router (NMEA over WiFi redux) Mollymawk Marine Electronics 16 21-10-2014 05:18

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.