Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-08-2019, 06:55   #1

Boat: 30 ft Pion
wav file requirements

Hi all,

I am a happy user of opencpn on rpi3b/rpi3b+, recently updated to opencpn 5.0.0 under raspbian buster. Everything up2date.

I use a daisy ais receiver and wanted to replace the standard alert sound (2bells.wav, in /usr/share/opencpn/sounds), that sounds as expected, by something more annoying ;-)

I downloaded some wav's but they either do not play or are distorted when played.

I am not an expert on formats of sound files.

REMARK: I read in the wiki (https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...ms_work_on_rpi) that wav files to be played from opencpn should be mono 16 bit 22050Hz ... but aplay (command line tool for playing wav files) tells me the following about 2bells.wav:
Playing WAVE '/usr/share/opencpn/sounds/2bells.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Mono..... I guess the 22050 Hz in the faq is outdated!?!?

Using an online converter, I converted a wav of my choice to the same format as 2bells.wav, which was succesful according to aplay (identical wav properties); furthermore, aplaying my new wav sounds as expected; however it does not play at all in opencpn.....

QUESTION: is there more to wav files than mono/stereo, 8/16 bit and frequency?? Any help appreciated!

regards knoek van soest
knoekvansoest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2019, 07:56   #2

Boat: Bruce Bingham Christina 49
Re: wav file requirements

We tried those changes to the wav files (16 bit, mono 22050 Hz) and it didn't work when we wanted different warning noises in Watchdog. The one and two bells sounds were formatted this way, but there is a better way.