Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2019, 17:04   #1
Registered User
 
prjacobs's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Victoria BC Ca
Boat: Albin Ballad 9.1
Posts: 19
Turn on all waypont numbers?

When setting out routes I notice the waypoint names are not visible.
The default setting in the waypoint properties screen shows the names box unchecked.

Is there a way to set this box as checked globally so that the names show up beside each waypoint as it's placed?

Right now I'm right-clicking on each waypoint on a route and ticking the names box to get the names to show on screen... pretty slow going.
Thanks in advance for any help offered!
__________________

__________________
==========
Peter
prjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 07:09   #2
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 444
Re: Turn on all waypont numbers?

Peter,
There is not a very easy way, but one at least much easier then you do now.
  • Run O open the routemanager and select and export the routes you want to change.
  • Then open the exported route(s) in a editor (notebook?) and do a text find and replace. Search for " <opencpn:auto_name>1</opencpn:auto_name> " and replace with " <opencpn:viz_name>1</opencpn:viz_name>
    <opencpn:auto_name>1</opencpn:auto_name>
    "
  • Close the editor, run O again and import the altered route(s).
Now you should have all waypoint names visible.
__________________

__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 09:16   #3
Registered User
 
prjacobs's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Victoria BC Ca
Boat: Albin Ballad 9.1
Posts: 19
Re: Turn on all waypont numbers?

Thanks rooiedirk. I'll give that a whirl to make the numbers visible.
Maybe that's a feature we could ask for, having the option to make the name box ticked by default, or not.
Cheers,
Peter.
__________________
==========
Peter
prjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 11:47   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 504
Re: Turn on all waypont numbers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by prjacobs View Post
Thanks rooiedirk. I'll give that a whirl to make the numbers visible.
Maybe that's a feature we could ask for, having the option to make the name box ticked by default, or not.
Cheers,
Peter.

I will try the suggestion above but I have already started a feature request 2558 in flyspray. Give it some more votes.


Too many Peters
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 20:25   #5
Registered User
 
prjacobs's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Victoria BC Ca
Boat: Albin Ballad 9.1
Posts: 19
Re: Turn on all waypont numbers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tupaia View Post
I will try the suggestion above but I have already started a feature request 2558 in flyspray. Give it some more votes.


Too many Peters
I checked post 2558 in flyspray but it did not seem relevant. Can you check on that?
Thanks
Peter
Please ignore .... found it!
__________________
==========
Peter
prjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 20:40   #6
Registered User
 
prjacobs's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Victoria BC Ca
Boat: Albin Ballad 9.1
Posts: 19
Re: Turn on all waypont numbers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tupaia View Post
I will try the suggestion above but I have already started a feature request 2558 in flyspray. Give it some more votes.


Too many Peters
Done!
Great forum, BTW
__________________
==========
Peter
prjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 07:54   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,936
Re: Turn on all waypont numbers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooiedirk View Post
Peter,
There is not a very easy way, but one at least much easier then you do now.
  • Run O open the routemanager and select and export the routes you want to change.
  • Then open the exported route(s) in a editor (notebook?) and do a text find and replace. Search for " <opencpn:auto_name>1</opencpn:auto_name> " and replace with " <opencpn:viz_name>1</opencpn:viz_name>
    <opencpn:auto_name>1</opencpn:auto_name>
    "
  • Close the editor, run O again and import the altered route(s).
Now you should have all waypoint names visible.

Added to FAQ
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...ecked_globally
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re rigging. Use old turn buckles or all new. mfw Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 17 28-08-2018 11:49
Numbers BC Mike Health, Safety & Related Gear 17 02-04-2006 14:05
Adding Up The Navigational Numbers jemsea General Sailing Forum 49 19-02-2006 01:24
Displaying Registration Numbers Sonosailor Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 2 14-07-2004 18:56
Hull I.D. Numbers GordMay Construction, Maintenance & Refit 0 11-04-2003 18:14

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:36.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.